Grimes to contribute new song to Suicide Squad soundtrack

Plus, the singer comments on her abrupt departure from the Barclays Center stage

    Grimes has had a bit of an up and down 24 hours. On the one hand, she’s just announced that she’ll be delivering a new song to the upcoming soundtrack for Suicide Squad. The pairing certainly makes a level of sense to anyone who’s been paying attention to Claire Boucher’s character designs surrounding her Art Angels album.

    According to the tweet announcing her involvement, she’s contributing a  track called “Medieval Warfare” to the DC Comics film.

    Warner Bros. has since revealed the complete details of the Suicide Squad soundtrack. Due out the same day the film hits theaters, August 5th, the OST also features new tracks from Panic! at the Disco and Skylar Grey. Most exciting, though, is a bevy of collaborative tracks including ones from Action Bronson, Dan Auerbach of The Black Keys, and Mark Ronson; Lil Wayne, Wiz Khalifa, Imagine Dragons, Logic, Ty Dolla $ign and X Ambassadors; Skrillex and Rick Ross; and Grace and G-Eazy.


    The full tracklist is below.

    Suicide Squad Soundtrack Tracklist:
    01. Skrillex & Rick Ross – “Purple Lamborghini”
    02. Lil Wayne, Wiz Khalifa & Imagine Dragons – “Sucker For Pain” (feat. Logic, Ty Dolla $ign & X Ambassadors)
    03. Twenty One Pilots – “Heathens”
    04. Action Bronson & Dan Auerbach – “Standing In The Rain” (feat. Mark Ronson)
    05. Kehlani – “Gangsta”
    06. Kevin Gates – “Know Better”
    07. Grace – “You Don’t Own Me” (feat. G-Eazy)
    08. Eminem – “Without Me”
    09. Skylar Grey – “Wreak Havoc”
    10. Grimes – “Medieval Warfare”
    11. Panic! at the Disco – “Bohemian Rhapsody”
    12. War – “Slippin’ Into Darkness”
    13. Creedence Clearwater Revival – “Fortunate Son”
    14. ConfidentialMX – “I Started a Joke” (feat. Becky Hanson)

    However, for Grimes, there can’t be “happier news” without their being some less happy news. Grimes’ tweet came after she sent out a series of messages explaining her abrupt departure from the stage during a performance at Brooklyn’s Barclays Center on Wednesday.

    During her opening slot for Florence and the Machine, Grimes introduced the song “World Princess II” with the preamble, “We just had a really disturbing thing happen to us today, so sorry if my voice is shaking, it’s been kind of a fucked day… I apologize, I’m having a lot of trouble keeping it together today, right now.” Though she then began the song, she ended up walking off before it was finished. The incident took place about two-thirds of the way through her set, and she did not return.


    Prior to her Suicide Squad tweet, Grimes said that, “I will explain what happened at Barclays once I can safely and legally do so.” She also warned against speculation based on “someone from Reddit” or questioning her “mental health.”