The Avalanches and Toro Y Moi team up on “If I Was a Folkstar” — listen

Wildflower cut also samples Queens of the Stone Age

    Photo by Nina Corcoran

    On July 8th, The Avalanches return with their first album in 16 years, Wildflower. The long-awaited follow-up to Since I Left You features guests in Father John MistyToro y MoiRoyal Trux’s Jennifer Herrima, as well as Danny Brown and DOOM, who both appeared on lead single “Frankie Sinatra”.

    “This new record feels a bit like a road trip, and we spent a lot of our teenage years driving around in cars in the country and in suburbia listening to music, and that was in our heads making this record as well,” the band told Beats 1’s Zane Lowe earlier this month. “For us this record was supposed to capture that feeling.”

    Today, a new song called “If I Was a Folkstar” has emerged (via Reddit), and it features Toro Y Moi. Not unlike Toro’s material, it’s a breezy and feel-good cut, and the ideal track to blast while speeding down an open road with nothing but adventure in mind. The song also features a brief sample of the radio bit from Queens Of The Stone Age’s “You Think I Ain’t Worth a Dollar, But I Feel Like a Millionaire”.


    Following a premiere on Australia’s triple j station, its radio rip can be streamed here.

    Wildflower Tracklist
    01. The Leaves Were Falling
    02. Because I’m Me
    03. Frankie Sinatra
    04. Subways
    05. Going Home
    06. If I Was a Folkstar
    07. Colours
    08. Zap!
    09. The Noisy Eater
    10. Wildflower
    11. Harmony
    12. Live a Lifetime Love
    13. Park Music
    14. Livin’ Underwater (Is Somethin’ Wild)
    15. The Wozard of Iz
    16. Over the Turnstiles
    17. Sunshine
    18. Light Up
    19. Kaleidoscopic Lovers
    20. Stepkids
    21. Saturday Night Inside Out
    22. Frankie Sinatra (Extended Mix)