Following the murder of Voice contestant Christina Grimmie and the worst mass shooting in US history in Orlando, more than 150 musicians have signed an open letter to Congress pleading to end gun violence.

Penned and organized by Billboard magazine, the letter features support from Paul McCartney, Radiohead’s Thom Yorke, Lady GagaPearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder and Mike McCready, Stevie Nicks, Beck, Iggy Pop, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Nine Inch Nails’ Trent Reznor, Michael Stipe, and Joan Jett.

“As leading artists and executives in the music industry, we are adding our voices to the chorus of Americans demanding change,” reads the letter. “Music always has been celebrated communally, on dancefloors and at concert halls. But this life-affirming ritual, like so many other daily experiences — going to school or church or work—now is threatened, because of gun violence in this country.”


Other artists who’ve backed the message include Alanis Morrisette, Common, Wilco’s Jeff Tweedy and Glenn Kotche, My Morning Jacket’s Jim James, Katy Perry, Ringo Starr, Sia, Courtney Love, Pusha TDiplo, Elvis Costello, Andrew Bird, Mark Ronson, Vic Mensa, The Flaming Lips’ Wayne Coyne, and Tori Amos.

In order to prevent further gun violence, the letter asks that Congress:

– Require a background check for every gun sale

– Block suspected terrorists from buying guns.

Below, find a full list of artists who’ve signed Billboard’s open letter. Find the full letter here.


Adam Lambert
Adam Levin (X Ambassadors)
Akiva Schaeffer
Alan Gilbert (NY Philharmonic)
Alanis Morissette
Alex Pall (The Chainsmokers)
Alicia Keys
Andrew Bird
Andy Samberg
Angel Coleman
Barbra Streisand
Bill Kreutzmann (Dead & Company)
Billy Joel
Bo Koster (My Morning Jacket)
Bob Weir (Dead & Company)
Bonnie Raitt
Brad Delson (Linkin Park)
Brendon Urie (Panic at the Disco)
Britney Spears
Butch Walker
Calvin Harris
Carl Broemel (My Morning Jacket)
Carole King
Casey Harris (X Ambassadors)
Charlie Puth
Chester Bennington (Linkin Park)
Christina Aguilera
Christina Perri
Conan O’Brien
Courtney Love
Cyndi Lauper
Demi Lovato
Drew Taggart (The Chainsmokers)
Eddie Vedder (Pearl Jam)
Elle King
Ellen DeGeneres
Elvis Costello
Emily Robison (Dixie Chicks)
Eric Hutchinson
Fher Olvera (Maná)
Glenn Kotche (Wilco)
Gregory Porter
Iggy Pop
Jack Antonoff
Jackson Browne
James Corden
Jason Mraz
Jean Michel Jarre
Jeff Ament (Pearl Jam)
Jeff Chimenti (Dead & Company)
Jeff Tweedy (Wilco)
Jennifer Lopez
Jim James (My Morning Jacket)
Joan Jett
Joe Hahn (Linkin Park)
Joe Jonas
John Mellencamp
John Stirratt (Wilco)
Jorge Hernandez (Los Tigres del Norte)
Josh Groban
Julia Michaels
Justin Tranter
Katy Perry
K.D. Lang
Kelly Rowland
Kid Cudi
Lady Gaga
Lin-Manuel Miranda
Mark Ronson
Martie Maguire (Dixie Chicks)
Matt Cameron (Pearl Jam)
Meghan Trainor
Melissa Etheridge
Michael Bublé
Michael Stipe
Mickey Hart (Dead & Company)
Mikael Jorgensen (Wilco)
Mike D
Mike McCready (Pearl Jam)
Mike Shinoda (Linkin Park)
My Morning Jacket
Natalie Maines (Dixie Chicks)
Nate Reuss
Nick Jonas
Nicky Jam
Pat Monahan
Pat Sansone (Wilco)
Patrick Hallahan (My Morning Jacket)
Paul McCartney
Pete Wentz
Peter Tork
Prince Royce
Pusha T
Ricky Martin
Ringo Starr
Rivers Cuomo
Rob Bourdon (Linkin Park)
Rob Thomas
Rosanne Cash
Rufus Wainwright
Ryan Leslie
Ryan Lewis
Sam Harris (X Ambassadors)
Sara Bareilles
Selena Gomez
Stevie Nicks
Stone Gossard (Pearl Jam)
Talib Kweli
Terence Blanchard
Thom Yorke
Tom Blankenship (My Morning Jacket)
Tony Bennett
Tori Amos
Trent Reznor
Troye Sivan
Vic Mensa
Wayne Coyne
Yoko Ono
Zayn Malik

Yesterday, Democrats began staging an intense sit-in on the House floor demanding a vote on gun control legislation. #NoBreakNoBill has since lasted more than 11 hours.