Bruce Springsteen to release companion album to his memoir Born to Run

Chapter and Verse reflects "themes and sections" of book and features five unreleased tracks

Bruce Springsteen

    Earlier this year, Bruce Springsteen announced the release of his aptly titled autobiography, Born to Run. The book, which The Boss has been hard at work on since 2009, documents his years growing up in New Jersey and recounts his relentless drive to make music that people feel passionately about.

    Some of that music will make its way onto Chapter and Verse, the career-spanning compilation that will serve as a companion to the autobiography. The 18-track album will feature songs Springsteen personally selected to “reflect the themes and sections” of the book, including five recordings never before heard.

    The album opens with three unreleased songs from Springsteen’s early bands the Castiles and Steel Mill. The tracklist also unearths the Bruce Springsteen Band’s rendition of the folk song “The Ballad of Jesse Hames” and a solo demo of “Henry Boy”, which would inspire “Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)”.


    While the book is due out September 27th, fans can grab Chapter and Verse a few days ahead of time when it drops September 23rd via Columbia. Watch a trailer for the album below, and scroll down to see the full tracklist.

    Chapter and Verse Album Trailer:

    Chapter and Verse Tracklist:
    01. The Castiles – “Baby I” *
    02. The Castiles – “You Can’t Judge a Book by the Cover” *
    03. Steel Mill – “He’s Guilty (The Judge Song)” *
    04. The Bruce Springsteen Band – “Ballad of Jesse James” *
    05. Bruce Springsteen – “Henry Boy” *
    06. Bruce Springsteen – “Growin’ Up”
    07. Bruce Springsteen – “4th of July, Asbury Park”
    08. Bruce Springsteen – “Born to Run”
    09. Bruce Springsteen – “Badlands”
    10. Bruce Springsteen – “The River”
    11. Bruce Springsteen – “My Father’s House”
    12. Bruce Springsteen – “Born in the U.S.A.”
    13. Bruce Springsteen – “Brilliant Disguise”
    14. Bruce Springsteen – “Living Proof”
    15. Bruce Springsteen – “The Ghost of Tom Joad”
    16. Bruce Springsteen – “The Rising”
    17. Bruce Springsteen – “Long Time Comin’”
    18. Bruce Springsteen – “Wrecking Ball”

    * = Previously unreleased