Cat Power is indomitable on Cassius collaboration “Feel Like Me” — listen

Chan Marshall easily steals the show on this latest cut off Ibifornia

    Cassius, the French electronic two-piece of Boom Bass and Philippe Zdar, will return with their first album in 10 years next month. Titled Ibifornia, it spans 10 tracks and A-list guests in Cat PowerMike D of Beastie Boys and Pharrell.

    Already we’ve heard Cassius, Mike D, and Cat Power break out a few moves on the disco-inspired “Action”. Today, Cat Power takes centerstage on album cut dubbed “Feel Like Me”. A gorgeous and swelling number, highlighted by Chan Marshall’s smoky yet pristine vocals, it will have you swooning for a new Cat Power album ASAP.

    In a statement to FADER, the duo details how the collaboration came to be:

    “One day while we were working on Cat Power’s last album ‘Sun,’ we played Chan our song ‘I <3 U SO.’ She looked at us and said that she would love singing on a track like this. We were overexcited and decided to tailor-made a song in the style of ours for our favorite living singer on earth, miss Chan Marshall. We made the instrumental in Paris, we knew very fast that we had an incredible chord progression and a great production. We went to New York and let Chan do her thing without even realizing what was really happening behind the glass window at Occiloscope Studio. We listened back and in a matter of a seconds we were all incapacitated by the water overflowing from our eyes. Since then it still has the same effect, Chan sang like a real woman, exactly how she prepared us on our long emails. Now we feel that this song is probably the most beautiful one we’ll ever do. We accept it and think it’s great like that. This moment at Occiloscope, working with Andre the Beastie Boys last engineer, remembering Adam Yauch, hearing Chan’s voice from heaven, giving us everything she had… This moment we’ll cherish until our last breath and even beyond. Hope you love it too. Peace.”


    Stream it below.

    Ibifornia arrives on August 26th (pushed back from June 24th) via Polydor/Interscope Records. For more, hear the Pharrell and Marshall-aided “Go Up”.

    Ibifornia Tracklist:
    01. The Missing (feat. Ryan Tedder & Jaw)
    02. Love Parade (feat. Mike D)
    03. Action feat. (Cat Power & Mike D)
    04. Go Up (feat. Cat Power & Pharell Williams)
    05. Ibifornia
    06. Hey You (feat. Ryan Tedder)
    07. Feel Like Me (feat. Cat Power)
    08. Blue Jean Smile (feat. John Gourley of Portugal. The Man)
    09. The Sound Of Love (feat. Jaw)
    10. Ponce