New Omar Rodriguez-Lopez album recorded with Mars Volta’s original lineup, John Frusciante

Arañas en La Sombra is one of 12 new LPs to be released over the next six months

Omar Rodriguez Lopez John Frusciante

    Over the next six months, The Mars Volta and At the Drive-In figurehead Omar Rodríguez-López will empty his vaults by releasing 12 solo albums.

    One of those releases, Arañas en La Sombra, is a particularly star-studded affair. As points out, the album was recorded with Mars Volta’s original lineup of Jon Theodore, Eva Gardner, and the late Ikey Owens, along with former Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist John Frusciante. The material, which dates back to 2012, will finally see release on August 26th through Ipecac Recordings.

    Earlier this week, Rodríguez-López expressed his desire to reunite with The Mars Volta’s surviving members, specifically Theodore, Gardner, and Cedric Bixler-Zavala.


    In the meantime, Rodríguez-López’s solo series formally kicks off today with the release of Sworn Virgins. It’s now available to purchase through Bandcamp and can also be streamed in full below. You’ll also find the video for lead single, “To Kill A Chi Chi”.

    Sworn Virgins – July 15
    Corazones – July 29
    Blind Worms Pious Swine – August 12
    Arañas en La Sombra – August 26
    Umbrella Mistress – September 9
    El Bien Y Mal Nos Une – September 23
    Cell Phone Bikini – October 7
    Infinity Drips – October 21
    Weekly Mansions – November 4
    Zapopan – November 18
    Nom De Guerre Cabal – December 2
    Some Need It Lonely – December 16