Omar Rodríguez-López will release 12 new solo albums before year’s end

Mars Volta and At the Drive-In guitarist signs with Ipecac Recordings for a bevy of new releases

Omar Rodriguez Lopez

    Amid At the Drive-In’s summer reunion tour and talk of new music, guitarist Omar Rodríguez-López is maintaining his prolific output as a solo musician. To date, Rodríguez-López has released 25 albums under his own name, and he’s got 12 more records on the way over the next six months.

    Ipecac Recordings will release a new album every two weeks starting on July 15th with Sworn Virgins and continuing through December 16th. These albums feature material recorded between 2008 and 2013, according to a press release. In particular, Sworn Virgins boasts contributions from Mars Volta and Bosnian Rainbows bandmate Deantoni Parks as well as Le Butcherettes’ Teri Gender Bender.

    Following the initial run of releases, Ipecac plans to package all 12 albums together in a limited edition CD/LP box set.


    Sworn Virgins – July 15
    Corazones – July 29
    Blind Worms Pious Swine – August 12
    Arañas en La Sombra – August 26
    Umbrella Mistress – September 9
    El Bien Y Mal Nos Une – September 23
    Cell Phone Bikini – October 7
    Infinity Drips – October 21
    Weekly Mansions – November 4
    Zapopan – November 18
    Nom De Guerre Cabal – December 2
    Some Need It Lonely – December 16