Ty Segall shares “Wave Goodbye” recorded live at legendary NYC venue Death By Audio — listen

Deluxe edition of DBA comp Start Your Own Fucking Show Space to feature bonus LP of Segall’s first NYC set

Ty Segall / Guantanamo Baywatch / The Numerators / Rips

    Photo by Ebru Yildiz

    Venues come and go all the time in New York City — that’s the nature of the beast — but few have left an impression half as large as Death By Audio. Shit, to even call DBA a venue is to only tell one part of the story; those who frequented the space know that it was also a recording studio, an effect pedal workshop, and a home to a rotating cast of artists and musicians.

    DBA held a special place in the hearts of those who played there prior to its closing in November 2014, but perhaps nobody loved the old dump better than California garage rocker Ty Segall. It was, after all, the locale of his first NYC show in 2008. Segall is one of 26 musicians to appear on Start Your Own Fucking Show Space, a new comp featuring live performances recorded over the venue’s final month. Other artists on the tracklist include everyone from Brooklyn locals A Place to Bury Strangers and Parquet Courts to out-of-towners like Segall, Thee Oh Sees, Downtown Boys, and many more.

    Today, we’re honored to premiere Segall’s wild and reckless contribution to the comp, “Wave Goodbye”. Dude’s got a lot more to offer than one measly track, though. The deluxe vinyl bundle of Start Your Own Fucking Show Space features a bonus LP of Segall’s first NYC set, recorded live at DBA on September 28, 2008. Blast from the past and straight to your cranium, baby.


    The 3xLP and digital formats of the comp are due out August 5th via Famous Class. Segall’s bonus vinyl is a one-time pressing of 1000 hand-numbered units and will never be released digitally, so you’d best get on that while the getting is good. In the meantime, wet your whistle with “Wave Goodbye” below.

    Ty Segall Live at Death by Audio September 28, 2008 Album Artwork:


    Ty Segall Live at Death by Audio September 28, 2008 Tracklist:
    01. Lovely One
    02. Don’t You Want To Go
    03. So Alone
    04. Cents
    05. You’re Not Me
    06. Pretty Baby (You’re So Ugly)
    07. The Drag
    08. Oh Mary


    Start Your Own Fucking Show Space Album Artwork:


    Start Your Own Fucking Show Space Tracklist:
    01. Dirty On Purpose – Ways to Drown
    02. Deerhoof – Paradise Girls
    03. Tyvek – Wayne County Roads
    04. Parquet Courts – Sunbathing Animal (Not available digitally)
    05. Coasting ft. Patty Conway – Shopping for a Smile
    06. Shellshag – Destroy Me I’m Yours
    07. Pujol – Black Rabbit
    08. Ted Leo & the Pharmacists – Bottled in Cork
    09. Screaming Females – Wishing Well
    10. Pampers – Monkey Drip
    11. Dan Deacon – Learning to Relax
    12. The Numerators – Bill
    13. Ty Segall – Wave Goodbye
    14. YVETTE – Mirrored Walls
    15. Downtown Boys – Wave Of History
    16. Future Islands – Balance
    17. Thee Oh Sees – Turned Out Light
    18. Natural Child – Crack Mountain
    19. Sleepies – All Over the Years
    20. Nots – Strange Rage
    21. Protomartyr – Free Supper
    22. Metz – Get Off
    23. Grooms – Tiger Trees
    24. Jeff: The Brotherhood – Heavy Damage
    25. A Place To Bury Strangers – I Lived My Life to Stand in the Shadow of Your Heart
    26. Lightning Bolt – The Metal East