Stream: Cymbals Eat Guitars’ new album Pretty Years

Inspired by the likes of Bruce Springsteen, David Bowie, and The Smiths

    On September 16th, Cymbals Eat Guitars will release their new album, Pretty Years. In anticipation, the LP is streaming in full below via

    Due out through Sinderlyn, the band’s fourth record overall follows 2014’s LOSEIts 10 tracks were helmed by renowned producer John Congleton (St. Vincent, Modest Mouse) and are said to be “more energetic” than their past material. Many of them also borrow a page from some of rock’s most iconic songwriters.

    “I personally looked to artists like Springsteen, ’70s Bowie, The Smiths, The Cure, Neil Young as inspiration for,” bassist Matthew Whipple in a statement, “not really for sound as much as for that dichotomy of bands who were entertainers still making, at times, weird dark music and writing songs that seem totally over-the-top by today’s rock band standards.”


    The Staten Island-born outfit previewed Pretty Years with singles “Have a Heart”“Wish”, and “4th of July, Philadelphia (Sandy)”.

    Pre-order a copy of the LP here.

    Pretty Years Artwork:


    Pretty Years Tracklist:
    01. Finally
    02. Have a Heart
    03. Wish
    04. Close
    05. Dancing Days
    06. 4th of July, Philadelphia (Sandy)
    07. Beam
    08. Mallwalking
    09. Well
    10. Shrine