The Rolling Stones are back with Blue and Lonesome, their first album in 11 years

Listen to the opening track, "Just Your Fool"


    In December, The Rolling Stones will return with their first album in over a decade.

    Entitled Blue and Lonesome, the 12-track LP sees The Stones returning to their roots, reimagining the same classic blues standards that first inspired the band five decades prior. According to co-producer Don Was, “This album is manifest testament to the purity of their love for making music, and the blues is, for the Stones, the fountainhead of everything they do.” The tracklist includes songs originally written and/or recorded by Howlin’ Wolf, Jimmy Reed, Willie Dixon, Eddie Taylor, and Little Walter.

    Blue and Lonesome was recorded over the course of three days last December at British Grove Studios in West London. Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Charlie Watts, and Ronnie Wood were joined in the studio by longtime touring sidemen Darryl Jones (bass), Chuck Leavell (keyboards) and Matt Clifford (keyboards), as well as Eric Clapton, who guests on two tracks.

    Below, listen to the album’s opening track, “Just Your Fool”, originally written and recorded by Little Walter in 1960.


    Blue and Lonesome Tracklist:
    01. Just Your Fool
    (Original written and recorded in 1960 by Little Walter)
    02. Commit A Crime
    (Original written and recorded in 1966 by Howlin’ Wolf – Chester Burnett)
    03. Blue And Lonesome
    (Original written and recorded in 1959 by Little Walter)
    04. All Of Your Love
    (Original written and recorded in 1967 by Magic Sam – Samuel Maghett)
    05. I Gotta Go
    (Original written and recorded in 1955 by Little Walter)
    6. Everybody Knows About My Good Thing (feat. Eric Clapton)
    (Original recorded in 1971 by Little Johnny Taylor, composed by Miles Grayson & Lermon Horton)
    07. Ride ‘Em On Down
    (Original written and recorded in 1955 by Eddie Taylor)
    08. Hate To See You Go
    (Original written and recorded in 1955 by Little Walter)
    09. Hoo Doo Blues
    (Original recorded in 1958 by Lightnin’ Slim, composed by Otis Hicks & Jerry West)
    10. Little Rain
    (Original recorded in 1957 by Jimmy Reed, composed by Ewart.G.Abner Jr. and Jimmy Reed)
    11. Just Like I Treat You
    (Original written by Willie Dixon and recorded by Howlin’ Wolf in December 1961)
    12. I Can’t Quit You Baby (feat. Eric Clapton)
    (Original written by Willie Dixon and recorded by Otis Rush in 1956)

Personalized Stories

Around The Web