Yasiin Bey announces new album December 99th

Collaborative project recorded with Ferrari Sheppard in South Africa

    Yasiin Bey was arrested earlier this year for trying to leave South Africa without proper travel documents. The legal mess has taken months to finally sort out, only being resolved this past week, but the artist formerly known as Mos Def appears to have used his time wisely: He has a new album on the way next month called December 99th.

    Due out December 9th, it’s the debut release under his and producer Ferrari Sheppard’s collaborative Dec. 99th moniker. The album collects nine tracks, including the three previously issued singles “Seaside Panic Room”,“N.A.W.”, and “Local Time”.

    As Bey has already announced plans to retire, as well as his four final US shows, December 99th could very well be his last album. Below, revisit Bey and Sheppard’s non-LP collaboration “HYMN”, followed by the album artwork and tracklist.


    December 99th Artwork: 


    December 99th Tracklist:
    01. N.A.W.
    02. Blade In The Pocket
    03. SPESH
    04. Local Time
    05. Tall Sleeves
    06. Seaside Panic Room
    07. Shadow In the Dark
    08. It Goes
    09. Special Dedication