Ray Davies announces first new album in nearly a decade, shares “Poetry” — listen

The first of two new volumes of music for 2017 will surface this April

    The Kinks mastermind Ray Davies has announced his first new studio album in over nine years. It’s called Americana, which takes its name from Davies’ 2013 memoir of the same name, and is due out on April 21st via Legacy Recordings.

    Co-produced by Guy Massey and John Jackson, the 15-track album — and the first of two volumes due out this year, according to its press release — digs deep into Davies’ personal relationship with America, from his early salad days touring the States with The Kinks to his dour blacklisting by the American Musicians Union. One highlight is his duet with The Jayhawks’ own Karen Grotberg on “Message from the Road”.

    We’ll have to wait to hear that one, but what we do have is a teaser track called “Poetry”. In this chapter, Davies questions the commercialized fruits of our country, as he sings: “I kneel down and say grace for the comforts the world bestows on me/ And the great corporations providing our every need/ And those big neon signs telling us what to eat/ And every shop window goods are designed to please/ Oh but I ask/ Where is the poetry?”


    Stream the track below via NPR and consult the full tracklist.

    Americana Tracklist:
    01. Americana
    02. The Deal
    03. Poetry
    04. Message From The Road feat. Karen Grotberg of The Jayhawks
    05. A Place In Your Heart
    06. The Mystery Room
    07. Silent Movie
    08. Rock ‘N’ Roll Cowboys
    09. Change For Change
    10. The Man Upstairs
    11. I’ve Heard That Beat Before
    12. A Long Drive Home To Tarzana
    13. The Great Highway
    14. The Invaders
    15. Wings Of Fantasy