Ryan Adams shares new powerful single “Doomsday”, announces tour dates — listen

The third cut released off Prisoner is one of the album's strongest tracks

Ryan Adams // Photo by Heather Kaplan

    Photo by Heather Kaplan

    Spoiler: We’ve heard the new Ryan Adams album.

    In fact, Prisoner hasn’t left our rotation in over a month, and this writer would go so far as to say it’s one of the top three best albums he’s ever written. It’s emotional, it’s soulful, it’s catchy, it’s engaging, it’s exactly what you want from a heartbroken singer-songwriter.

    “Doomsday”, which follows recent cuts “Do You Still Love Me?” and “To Be Without You”, is a major highlight off the record, sounding like something taken from Springsteen’s Born in the U.S.A. or Petty’s Hard Promises. Adams’ uses of repetition here is just … beautiful.

    Listen to the song below and get ready for something good on February 17th via Pax Am/Blue Note/Capitol.


    Adams has also announced his first US tour dates behind PrisonerUpdate: Adams has added an intimate show at New York’s Rough Trade for the day after the album’s release. Tickets for that gig go on sale February 10th here and come with a copy of the Prisoner CD.

    Ryan Adams 2017 Tour Dates:
    02/18 – New York, NY @ Rough Trade
    03/05 – Richmond, VA @ The National
    03/06 – Richmond, VA @ The National
    03/08 – Columbia, SC @ Township Auditorium
    03/09 – North Charleston, SC @ North Charleston Performing Arts Center
    03/10 – Ft. Lauderdale, FL @ The Parker Playhouse
    03/12 – Tampa, FL @ Gasparilla Music Festival
    03/14 – New Orleans, LA @ Orpheum Theater
    07/06 – Lisbon, PT @ NOS Alive Festival
    07/07 – Madrid, ES @ Mad Cool Festival

    You might also want to keep tabs on Marc Maron’s WTF podcast as it appears Mr. Adams stopped by the garage this week:


    Prisoner Tracklist:
    01. Do You Still Love Me?
    02. Prisoner
    03. Doomsday
    04. Haunted House
    05. Shiver And Shake
    06. To Be Without You
    07. Anything I Say To You Now
    08. Breakdown
    09. Outbound Train
    10. Broken Anyway
    11. Tightrope
    12. We Disappear