Singles soundtrack to receive expanded reissue and vinyl box set for 25th anniversary

Seminal grunge soundtrack features Chris Cornell, Alice in Chains, Mother Love Bone, Mudhoney, and Pearl Jam


    Pretty much everything about the breakthrough of grunge music in the early ’90s can be boiled down to one movie: Cameron Crowe’s 1992 classic Singles. I mean, Pearl Jam was actually in the movie and Matt Dillion’s wardrobe consisted mainly of Jeff Amnet’s actual clothing. But nothing sums up the cultural significance better than the film’s soundtrack, which featured the likes of Chris Cornell, Alice in Chains, Mother Love Bone, Mudhoney, and yes, Pearl Jam. This year marks the 25th anniversary of the OST, and it looks as if Sony Music will be celebrating with an expanded reissue.

    Pre-orders for a double-CD and triple-LP box set of the Singles Soundtrack (Deluxe Edition) have appeared on Amazon’s UK site. Both editions feature the original 13 tracks plus 18 new ones including demos, instrumentals, and “Touch Me I’m Dick” by Dillion’s fictional band in the film, Citizen Dick, which featured Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder, Stone Gossard, and Jeff Ament. (It should be noted that the way the tracklist is listed out makes it seem as if the vinyl box set will actually feature the original OST on double-vinyl and include the 18 bonus tracks on CD.)

    (Read: Ranking: Every Pearl Jam Album from Worst to Best)

    There’s a February 17th release date listed, but it might be worth holding off to place your pre-order. A previous listing on Acoustic Sounds from May 2015 listed a August 2016 release date, and obviously that never occurred. Still, this new listing comes from Amazon, so it seems a bit more legit. Find the tracklist below.


    Update: The reissue has officially been announced for a May 19th release. Get more details here.

    Singles Soundtrack (Deluxe Edition) CD Tracklist:
    Disc 1:
    01. Alice in Chains – Would?
    02. Pearl Jam – Breath
    03. Chris Cornell – Seasons
    04. Paul Westerberg – Dyslexic Heart
    05. The Lovemongers – Battle of Evermore
    06. Mother Love Bone – Chloe Dancer / Crown of Thorns
    07. Soundgarden – Birth Ritual
    08. Pearl Jam – State of Love and Trust
    09. Mudhoney – Overblown
    10. Paul Westerberg – Waiting for Somebody
    11. Jimi Hendrix – May This Be Love
    12. Screaming Trees – Nearly Lost You
    13. The Smashing Pumpkins – Drown

    Disc 2:
    01. Citizen Dick – Touch Me I’m Dick
    02. Chris Cornell – Nowhere But You
    03. Chris Cornell- Spoonman
    04. Chris Cornell – Flutter Girl
    05. Chris Cornell – Missing
    06. Alice in Chains – Would?
    07. Alice in Chains – It Ain’t Like That
    08. Soundgarden – Birth Ritual
    09. Paul Westerberg – Dyslexic Heart
    10. Paul Westerberg – Waiting for Somebody
    11. Mudhoney – Overblown
    12. Truly – Heart and Lungs
    13. Blood Circus – Six Foot Under
    14. Mike McCready – Singles Blues 1
    15. Paul Westerberg – Blue Heart
    16. Paul Westerberg – Lost in Emily’s Woods
    17. Chris Cornell – Ferry Boat #3
    18. Chris Cornell – Score Piece #4

Around The Web