Black Lips announce new album, Satan’s Grafitti or God’s Art?, share “Can’t Hold On” — listen

Sean Lennon-produced record sees the return of guitarist Jack Hines, plus guest vocals by Yoko Ono

    Photo by​ Ben Rayner

    Black Lips have announced their return with a new full-length entitled, Satan’s Grafitti or God’s Art?. Due to arrive May 5th through Vice Records, the follow-up to 2014’s Underneath the Rainbow was produced by Sean Lennon.

    The album marks the return of guitarist Jack Hines, who was reenlisted following the departure of Ian St. Pé shortly after the release of Underneath the Rainbow. Back with the band for the first time since 2004, Hines joins other new additions Oakley Munson (drums, replacing Joe Bradely) and Zumi Rosow (saxophone).

    Satan’s Grafitti or God’s Art? spans 18 tracks and features guest vocals by Lennon’s mother, Yoko Ono. Contributions also come from Saul Adamczewski of experimental British rockers Fat White Family. A press release says the record is Black Lips’ “most musically evolved to date,” while maintaining the “fuzzy, dirty rock n’ roll” for which they’re known.


    As a first listen, the band has shared lead single “Can’t Hold On”. Lennon’s psychedelic touch is definitely present, heard clearly on the ringing guitar leads and decaying horns. The Lips’ own shambolic take on garage rock is still very much at the forefront, however, thanks to scratchy vocals and a ferocious thrust. Take a listen below.

    In addition to the new record, Black Lips will reissue their last four albums — Good Bad Not Evil, 200 Million Thousand, Arabia Mountain, and Underneath the Rainbow — in a McDonald’s themed Happy Meal box set for a Record Store Day 2017.


    Satan’s Grafitti or God’s Art? Album Art:

    Satan’s Grafitti or God’s Art? Tracklist:
    01. Overture: Sunday Mourning
    02. Occidental Front
    03. Can’t Hold On
    04. The Last Cul de Sac
    05. Interlude: Got Me All Alone
    06. Crystal Night
    07. Squatting in Heaven
    08. Interlude: Bongo’s Baby
    09. Rebel Intuition
    10. Wayne
    11. Interlude: E’lektric Spider Webz
    12. We Know
    13. In My Mind There’s a Dream
    14. Lucid Nightmare
    15. Come Ride With Me
    16. It Won’t Be Long
    17. Loser’s Lament
    18. Finale: Sunday Mourning

    Black Lips will tour in support of the new album throughout May before hitting the European festival circuit in August. Check out their itinerary:

    Black Lips 2017 Tour Dates:
    05/02 – Chapel Hill, NC @ Cat’s Cradle
    05/03 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
    05/05 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall
    05/06 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat
    05/08 – Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall
    05/09 – Montreal, QC @ Le National
    05/10 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern
    05/11 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern
    05/12 – Detroit, MI @ El Club
    05/105 – St Louis, MO @ Blueberry Hill
    05/17 – Dallas, TX @ Trees
    05/20 – Mexico City, MX @ Festival Martin
    05/22 – New Orleans, LA @ One Eyed Jacks
    05/23 – Birmingham, AL @ Saturn
    08/17-20 – Saint-Malo, FR @ Route du Rock
    08/18 – Kiewit-Hasselt, BE @ Pukkelpop
    08/25-27 – Wetherby, UK @ Leeds Festival
    08/25-27 – Reading, UK @ Reading Festival