Guided By Voices share new song “Dr. Feelgood Falls Off The Ocean” — listen

A second preview of the band's first-ever double LP

    Photo by Sandlin Gaither

    August By Cake is the forthcoming album from Guided By Voices, expected out on shelves April 7th through the band’s own GBV Inc. Records.

    Spanning a generous 32 tracks, it marks their first-ever double album and serves as Robert Pollard’s 100th studio effort (!) since 1986’s Forever Since Breakfast. What’s more, August is the first GBV record in the band’s storied history to include contributions from all five members.

    Fans got a sneak peek at the record earlier this year with The Who-esque “Hiking Skin”. Pollard and the crew return today with a second offering in “Dr. Feelgood Falls Off The Ocean”, which pleasantly makes use of a snappy drum machine and ringing guitar chords.


    Stream it down below.

    GBV will embark on a US tour beginning next month, including both weekends at Coachella.

    August By Cake Tracklisting:
    00. Bob Intro
    01. 5° On The inside.
    02. Generox – Gray
    03. When We All Hold Hands
    04. Goodbye Note
    05. We Liken The Sun.
    06. Fever Pitch
    07. Absent The Man
    08. Packing The Dead Zone
    09. What Begins On New Years Day
    10. Overloaded
    11. Keep Me Down
    12. West Coast Company Man
    13. Warm Up To Religion
    14. High 5 Hall Of Famers
    15. Hiking Skin
    16. Sudden Fiction
    17. Its Food
    18. Cheap Buttons
    19. Substitute 11
    20. Chew the Sand
    21. Dr. Feelgood Falls Off the Ocean
    22. The Laughing Closet
    23. Deflect Project
    24. Upon The Circus Bus
    25. Try It Out Its Nothing
    26. Sentimental Wars
    27. Circus Day Holdout
    28. Whole Tomatoes
    29. Amusement Park Is Over
    30. Golden Doors
    31. The Possible Edge
    32. Escape To Phoenix