Mark Lanegan Band share buzzing new track “Beehive” — listen

From the forthcoming album Gargoyle, featuring Josh Homme, Greg Dulli, and Duke Garwood

    Photo​​​ by​​​​ ​​Steve Gullick

    ​​Former Screaming Trees frontman Mark Lanegan is set to return with a new album under his Mark Lanegan Band moniker on April 28th. Entitled Gargoyle, the record’s lead single was the rumbling “Nocturne”, and now the band have shared another listen with the buzzing “Beehive”.

    The track opens with a swarm of guitars getting increasingly closer before some snapping drumming breaks it up into a forward march. With the music rising and falling like honeybees dipping in the wind, Lanegan sings in his low grumble of a voice, “Scenes of dying love/ In my head buzzes a bee’s nest/ Hanging down from above/ Everywhere I look it’s a bummer.” A press release says the song “brilliantly exemplifies the surprising new musical paths Lanegan has forged for himself in recent years,” and you can Take a listen below.


    Gargoyle features Queens of the Stone Age mastermind Josh HommeGreg Dulli of The Afghan Whigs, longtime producer Alain Johannes, and London-based multi-instrumentalist Duke Garwood. Six of the album’s 10 tracks were co-written by English artist Rob Marshall.

    Gargoyle Artwork:


    Gargoyle Tracklist:
    01. Deaths Head Tattoo
    02. Nocturne
    03. Blue Blue Sea
    04. Beehive
    05. Sister
    06. Emperor
    07. Goodbye To Beauty
    08. Drunk On Destruction
    09. First Day Of Winter
    10. Old Swan