Mark Mulcahy announces new solo album, live album, and final Miracle Legion tour dates

It's Spring cleaning for America's most underrated singer-songwriter

    Mark Mulcahy, one of America’s finest singer-songwriters, has announced his first album in four years. It’s titled The Possum in the Driveway and features 11 new tracks that this writer thinks are quite transformative for the artist.

    Produced by Scott Amore, and featuring work by Ken Maiuri (Pedro the Lion, B-52s) alongside John Panos (Augustines, Mates of State), Mulcahy’s latest will land on this year’s Record Store Day — so, Saturday, April 22nd — and come pressed on limited edition gold vinyl via his own Mezzotint imprint. So, save that money in the cookie jar.

    “This record took years off my life to make,” Mulcahy admits in a press release, which explains how the album survived a recording studio burning down, a car crash, and the measles. As he argues, “The war is over. I won.” To get a glimpse of the battles fought, you can stream the album’s first single, “The Fiddler”, right now.


    Soon enough, Mulcahy will hit the road in support, though not before he closes the book on Miracle Legion. Next month, his iconic alternative rock outfit will wrap up their epic reunion tour with a short stint across the States. Can’t make it? Don’t fret. They’re iconizing their outstanding run with an expansive live album called Annulment.

    Due out April 7th via Mezzotint, the 25-track album captures last year’s performances at Cod Fish Hollow in Maquoketa, Iowa, and The Bell House in Brooklyn, New York. It’s a pretty all-encompassing package, too, featuring a number of favorites like “Snacks and Candy”, “Country Boy”, and “All for the Best”. As a preview, stream “Storyteller” now:

    Busy month for the busy bee. In the meantime, consult the cover art and tracklists for both albums below, in addition to those final tour dates shortly after.


    The Possum in the Driveway Tracklist:
    01. Stuck On Something Else
    02. 30 Days Away
    03. I Am The Number 13
    04. Catching Mice
    05. The Fiddler
    06. Hollywood Never Forgives
    07. Conflicted Interests
    08. Cross The Street
    09. They Broke The Spell
    10. Jimmy
    11. Geraldine

    Annulment Tracklist:
    01. Country Boy
    02. Out to Play
    03. The Heart Is Attached
    04. Even Better
    05. Sooner
    06. Mr. Mingo
    07. And Then
    08. Screamin’
    09. Storyteller
    10. The Backyard
    11. Homer
    12. Say Hello
    13. Crooked Path
    14. Gigantic Transatlantic Trunk Call
    15. Old and New
    16. A Tangled Lead
    17. All for the Best
    18. I Wish I Was Danny Kaye
    19. You’re the One Lee
    20. Hi-Ho Maquoketa
    21. Ladies from Town
    22. So Good
    23. Snacks and Candy
    24. Closer to the Wall
    25. Madison Park

    Miracle Legion 2016 Tour Dates:
    04/07 – Fall River, MA @ Narrows Center for the Arts
    04/08 – North Adams, MA @ Mass MoCa *
    04/20 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle ^
    04/21 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom #
    04/22 – Hamden, CT @ The Ballroom at The Outer Space
    04/28 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echoplex
    04/29 – San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel


    * = w/ Lou Barlow
    ^ = w/ Pete Donnelly
    # = w/ Elvis Perkins