Ryuichi Sakamoto announces first solo album in eight years

The Revenant composer to debut the LP, async, in full at this year's Big Ears Festival in Tennessee

    Ryuichi Sakamoto helmed the score for Alejandro González Iñárritu’s 2016 masterpiece, The Revenant, with the help of The National’s Bryce Dessner and German electronic artist Alva Noto. The Japanese composer is going it alone for his next project, however, as he’s gearing up for the release of his first solo studio album in eight years.

    Titled async, the record is due out April 28th via Milan. The 14-track collection was recorded in New York and reportedly inspired by “everyday objects, sculpture, and nature.” A press release further details, “The album plays with ideas of a-synchronism, prime numbers, chaos, quantum physics and the blurred lines of life and artificiality/noise and music.”

    For fans who don’t want to wait to until async’s official release date, Sakamoto is expected to debut the album in full during his set at this year’s Big Ears Festival, which takes place in Knoxville, Tennessee from March 23rd through the 26th.


    async Artwork:

    async Tracklist:
    01. andata
    02. disintegration
    03. solari
    04. ZURE
    05. walker
    06. stakra
    07. ubi
    08. fullmoon
    09. async
    10. tri
    11. Life, Life
    12. honj
    13. ff
    14. garden
    15. water state 2 [vinyl-only bonus track]

    Below, revisit The Revenant score: