The Drums announce new album, Abysmal Thoughts, share “Blood Under My Belt” — listen

The follow-up to 2014's Encyclopedia slated for a June release

    Photo by Moni Haworth

    On June 16th, The Drums will return with their first album in three years, “Abysmal Thoughts”. Due out through ANTI-, it serves as the outfit’s fourth overall following Encyclopedia.

    Spanning 12 tracks, the new LP was recorded in frontman and founder Jonny Pierce’s upstate New York cabin and Los Angeles, where he moved not long after the sad dissolution of a relationship. It was in the City of Angels and his new digs that he found himself finally confronting the disappointments and loneliness of his post-Encyclopedia life.

    “I said I wanted to let life happen?” he says in a press release. “Well, the universe listened and life began to fuck me real good! But honestly, I make the worst art when I’m comfortable. The stuff that resonates with me the longest — and that resonates with others — is always the stuff that comes out of my misery.”


    “Abysmal Thoughts” consequently contains some of “the most revelatory work” that Pierce has put out. Making it that much more personal, Pierce not only wrote each and every one of the tracks himself, but also played all the instruments heard on the LP. Musically, the album’s said to be “alive with the hyperdramatic emotional potency of the Smiths, the arch literary pop moves of New Zealanders like the Verlaines and the Clean, and the riotous clatter-punk power of the UK DIY bands of 1979.”

    As a preview, lead single “Blood Under My Belt” has been revealed. It’s an airy cut in which Pierce admits his wrongs to a partner while also professing his undying love. Stream it down below.

    “Abysmal Thoughts” Artwork:


    “Abysmal Thoughts” Tracklist:
    01. Mirror
    02. I’ll Fight for Your Life
    03. Blood Under My Belt
    04. Heart Basel
    05. Shoot the Sun Down
    06. Head of the Horse
    07. Under the Ice
    08. Are U Fucked
    09. Your Tenderness
    10. Rich Kids
    11. If All We Share (Means Nothing)
    12. Abysmal Thoughts


    In support of the LP, The Drums will head out on the road beginning next week.

    The Drums 2017 Tour Dates:
    03/08 – Pomona, CA @ The Glass House ^
    03/09 – Las Vegas, NV @ Neon Reverb Festival
    03/10 – Tucson, AZ @ 191 Toole ^
    03/11 – Phoenix, AZ @ Viva PHX
    03/12 – El Paso, TX @ Lowbrow Palace ^
    03/14-17 – Austin, TX @ South By Southwest
    03/18 – Dallas, TX @ Trees
    07/17 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos
    07/18 – Vancouver, BC @ Venue
    07/19 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom
    07/21 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
    07/30 – Oro-Medonte, ON @ WayHome Music Festival

    ^ = w/ Jay Som