Prince has “Electric Intercourse” on previously unreleased song from Purple Rain reissue — listen

Warner Bros. reveals details of the classic record's massive reissue, which features six newly unearthed tracks

    Prince fans were undoubtedly disappointed when a planned EP of previously unheard material, Deliverance, got pulled just one day before its release in the midst of legal drama. Never fear, however, as new Prince songs are coming as part of Warner Bros. massive reissue of the classic Purple Rain.

    NPG Records and WB have today announced details of the re-release, which will come in Deluxe and Deluxe – Expanded Edition versions. Due out June 23rd, both editions will include six tracks that have “never been released or distributed in the collector or bootleg community,” according to a press release statement.

    (Read: A Brief History of Prince Being Prince)

    Among those newly unearthed songs are a solo version of “Possessed” from 1983; a 10-minute version of “We Can Fuck” with alternate lyrics; a finished master of “Katrina’s Paper Doll”, previously only heard as a demo; and full version of “Father’s Song”, an instrumental that appeared only briefly in the Purple Rain film. One of the new tracks, a studio version of “Electric Intercourse”, was only recently unearthed at Paisley Park. It’s being shared as an instant download with pre-orders of the reissue, and you can listen to it below via Apple Music and Spotify.


    The Purple Rain reissue was put together in accordance with plans Prince himself agreed upon before he passed away last year. Both editions will feature a 2015 Paisley Park remaster of the album and an 11-track second disc of new material called From The Vault & Previously Unreleased. The Deluxe – Expanded Edition features a third disc collecting single edits and B-sides, plus a DVD concert film called Prince and The Revolution, Live at the Carrier Dome, Syracuse, NY, March 30, 1985. The audio and video for the film was restored from the original production master tape.

    Check out the complete tracklisting for the Deluxe – Expanded Edition below.

    Purple Rain Deluxe – Expanded Edition Tracklist:
    Disc One (Original Album – 2015 Paisley Park Remaster):
    01. Let’s Go Crazy
    02. Take Me With U
    03. The Beautiful Ones
    04. Computer Blue
    05. Darling Nikki
    06. When Doves Cry
    07. I Would Die 4 U
    08. Baby I’m a Star
    09. Purple Rain


    Disc Two (From The Vault & Previously Unreleased):
    01. The Dance Electric
    02. Love and Sex
    03. Computer Blue (Hallway Speech version)
    04. Electric Intercourse (studio)
    05. Our Destiny / Roadhouse Garden
    06. Possessed (1983 version)
    07. Wonderful Ass
    08. Velvet Kitty Cat
    09. Katrina’s Paper Dolls
    10. We Can Fuck
    11. Father’s Song

    Disc Three (Single Edits & B-Sides):
    1. When Doves Cry (edit)
    2. 17 Days
    3. Let’s Go Crazy (edit)
    4. Let’s Go Crazy (Special Dance Mix)
    5. Erotic City
    6. Erotic City (Make Love Not War Erotic City Come Alive)
    7. Purple Rain (edit)
    8. God
    9. God (Love Theme From Purple Rain)
    10. Another Lonely Christmas
    11. Another Lonely Christmas (extended version)
    12. I Would Die 4 U (edit)
    13. I Would Die 4 U (extended version)
    14. Baby I’m a Star (edit)
    15. Take Me With U (edit)

    DVD (Prince and The Revolution, Live at the Carrier Dome, Syracuse, NY, March 30, 1985):
    01. Let’s Go Crazy
    02. Delirious
    03. 1999
    04. Little Red Corvette
    05. Take Me With U
    06. Do Me, Baby
    07. Irresistible Bitch
    08. Possessed
    09. How Come U Don’t Call Me Anymore?
    10. Let’s Pretend We’re Married
    11. International Lover
    12. God
    13. Computer Blue
    14. Darling Nikki
    15. The Beautiful Ones
    16. When Doves Cry
    17. I Would Die 4 U
    18. Baby I’m a Star
    19. Purple Rain


Around The Web