Deerhoof announce new album, Mountain Moves, share “I Will Spite Survive” — listen

The Magic follow-up features Stereolab's Lætitia Sadier, Wye Oak's Jenn Wasner, and a handful of cover songs


    On September 8th, Deerhoof will return with a new album, Mountain Moves, via Joyful Recordings. The LP spans 15 tracks and comes just a little over a year after their 2016 record, The Magic.

    Mountain Moves includes 12 originals and three covers, including renditions of tracks by Bob Marley and The Staples Singers. Joining Deerhoof in the studio were an array of guest collaborators, including Stereolab singer Lætitia Sadier, Wye Oak and Flock of Dimes leader Jenn Wasner, Brooklyn singer/multi-instrumentalist Xenia Rubinos, Argentinian singer-songwriter Juana Molina, and jazz musician Matana Roberts. The LP was recorded, performed, and produced by the band’s own Greg Saunier, Ed Rodriguez, Satomi Matsuzaki & John Dieterich, with the Children of Hoof Radio & Television Orchestra.

    According to a press release, the new album embraces the spirit of the underground creative community:

    “They [Deerhoof] recognize that we are simultaneously living in two worlds, one a maniacal, mainstream monoculture hell-bent on driving humankind into extinction, the other a churning underground teeming with ideas and dogged optimism and the will to thrive and survive. Mountain Moves refutes the former by ecstatically celebrating the latter.”


    As a first look, Saunier & co. have let loose “I Will Spite Survive”, a song which mirrors well the LP’s themes of resiliency and perseverance. Deerhoof discussed the track in a statement to Democracy Now!:

    “In this world of tyrants and CEOs seemingly hellbent on achieving the termination of our species, perhaps the most rebellious thing we could do is not die. Should we survive the global warming, the lack of healthcare, and the bombs, a more humane future may await us. Maligned for shirking their capitalist duty, it is the younger generations we center. Safeguarding our consciences is only part of the daily challenge, since we also need to navigate corporate-owned electronic media which both aids and saps our energies. Fans of Wye Oak will be thrilled (as we were) to hear Jenn Wasner harmonize with Deerhoof singer Satomi Matsuzaki, while fans of Gloria Gaynor, Bee Gees, or The Bobby Fuller Four may detect homage in the lyrics.”

    Hear it below.

    Mountain Moves Artwork:

    Mountain Moves Tracklist:
    01. Slow Motion Detonation (feat. Juana Molina)
    02. Con Sordino
    03. I Will Spite Survive (feat. Jenn Wasner)
    04. Come Down Here And Say That (feat. Lætitia Sadier)
    05. Gracias A La Vida (Violeta Parra Cover)
    06. Begin Countdown
    07. Your Dystopic Creation Doesn’t Fear You (feat. Awkwafina)
    08. Ay That’s Me
    09. Palace of the Governors
    10. Singalong Junk (feat. Xenia Rubinos)
    11. Mountain Moves (feat. Matana Roberts)
    12. Freedom Highway (The Staples Singers Cover)
    13. Sea Moves (feat. Chad Popple, Devin Hoff)
    14. Kokoye
    15. Small Axe (Bob Marley Cover)

    In support, the group will be touring North America and Europe this summer.

    Deerhoof 2017 Tour Dates:
    06/28 – Milwaukee, WI @ Summerfest
    06/29 – Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon
    06/30 – Chicago, IL @ United Center
    07/01 – Chicago, IL @ United Center
    07/02 – Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups
    07/03 – Cincinnati, OH @ Urban Artifact
    08/18 – Sudbury, ON @ The Grand Theatre
    08/19 – Ottawa, ON @ Arboretum Fest 2017
    08/20 – Toronto, ON @ Wavelength Music Festival
    08/25 – Prague, CZ @ Underdogs’ Ballroom & Bar
    08/26 – Storkow, DE @ Alinae Lumr Festival
    08/29 – Darmstadt, DE @ Oetinger Villa
    08/30 – Opwijk, BE @ Nosta
    08/31 – Nijmegen, NL @ Doornroosje
    09/02 – Aarhus, DK @ UJazz Festival
    09/03 – Dorset, UK @ End of the Road Festival
    09/04 – London, UK @ Village Underground
    09/05 – Ramsgate, UK @ Ramsgate Music Hall


Around The Web