Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross score Ken Burns’ epic The Vietnam War: Stream

The duo utilized sound recordings from the war as “rhythmic starting points” for their score

Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross score soundtrack Waves musical film
Atticus Ross and Trent Reznor

    Trent Reznor and frequent collaborator Atticus Ross have teamed up for another atmospheric film score, and this time around their dark, moody soundscapes will be helping iconic documentarian Ken Burns’ latest epic, The Vietnam War, come to life. As we previously reported, Reznor and Ross drew from field recordings of mortars, helicopters, and people talking as “rhythmic starting points” for the score, which also features reworked music from from Nine Inch Nails songs and their scores for The Social Network and The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.

    The 10-part, 18-hour epic begins on PBS on September 17th, and Burns personally sought out the duo for the series. “I don’t think he finished the sentence before I said, ‘Yeah, we’re in,’” Reznor recently told the New York Times. “That’s a no-brainer.” Reznor also told the Times that the duo were provided with a blueprint of moods to evoke: rage, courage, sadness, fear, chaos, loss, love, sacrifice, aggression, loneliness, and anxiety—exactly the emotions the uber intense Reznor’s art normally traffics in.

    “We are incredibly honored to be a part of this project,” Reznor and Ross said in a joint statement. “With The Vietnam War, Ken [Burns], [co-director] Lynn [Novick], and [senior producer] Sarah [Botstein] have created something of vital importance. To bear witness to their process was immensely inspiring. The sheer scale of the project combined with the magnitude of the subject matter was initially daunting for us, but the commitment, care, and reverence they displayed made the experience deeply satisfying on many levels.”


    Stream the album below and check out the original score tracklist and album artwork as well

    The Vietnam War – Original Score by Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross Artwork:

    vietnam war Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross score Ken Burns epic The Vietnam War: Stream

    The Vietnam War – Original Score by Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross Tracklist:

    01. Less Likely
    02. Four Enclosed Walls
    03. The Forever Rain
    04. Remnants
    05. Other Ways to Get to the Same Place
    06. Torn Polaroid
    07. Before Dawn
    08. What Comes Back
    09. Justified Response
    10. Counting Ticks

    CD 2
    01. A World Away
    02. The Right Things
    03. Passing the Point
    04. Strangers In Lockstep
    05. Before and After Faith
    06. The Same Dream
    07. Haunted


Personalized Stories

Around The Web