tUnE-yArDs release new album, I can feel you creep into my private life: Stream

The follow-up to 2014’s Nikki Nack welcomes Nate Brenner as a full-time band member

    tUnE-yArDs today return with their latest album, I can feel you creep into my private life. The follow-up to 2014’s Nikki Nack is now available to stream below. You can pick up the vinyl here.

    I can feel… is tUnE-yArDs’ official coming out party as a duo. Whereas past works have solely been credited to mastermind Merrill Garbus, this new effort features longtime collaborator Nate Brenner stepping into a full-time role. Recording took place at John Vanderslice’s Tiny Telephone Oakland studio, where the band worked with mixer Mikaelin “Blue” Bluespruce (Kendrick Lamar, Solange).

    (Read: The 30 Most Anticipated Albums of 2018)

    Garbus was heavily influenced by working at her C.L.A.W. (Collaborative Legions of Artful Womxn) radio program and taking part in bi-weekly, six-month workshop on being white in today’s society. Asked by The New York Times what a white artist has to add to the conversation about race when people like Kendrick Lamar and Solange are putting out albums, Garbus answered,

    “That’s the question, isn’t it? I constantly question, ‘Do I deserve to be here?’ Why am I talking to you, for instance? This is a privileged place to be. I wish I could say, ‘I’ve sat and meditated for so many hours on my whiteness that I have something to say.’ But I have no idea! And I think it’s OK not to know that. That being said, there is plenty that white people can do… Like: ‘Talk to other white people.'”


    See how this awakening experience affected tUnE-yArDs’ music by listening to I can feel you creep into my private life below.

    I can feel you creep into my private life Artwork:

    I can feel you creep into my private life Tracklist:
    01. Heart Attack
    02. Coast to Coast
    03. ABC 123
    04. Now As Then
    05. Honesty
    06. Colonizer
    07. Look At Your Hands
    08. Home
    09. Hammer
    10. Who Are You
    11. Private Life
    12. Free