Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Rings soundtrack coming to vinyl in new box set

The first-ever vinyl release of Howard Shore's Grammy- and Oscar-winning score

The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Rings Vinyl Box Set
The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Rings Vinyl Box Set

    Back in 2005, Reprise released the Grammy- and Oscar-winning soundtracks to each of the Lord of the Rings films as CD box sets. Now, 13 years later, vinyl pressings of the OSTs will be available for the first time through Rhino Records.

    The new series kicks off with a The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring box set, due out April 6th. The five-LP collection features red vinyl housed in a “red leather style spine” box. Also included is a map of Middle Earth and a booklet featuring new and extensive linear notes from author Doug Adams. Limited to just 5,000 copies, the set retails for $119.98 (pre-orders are ongoing here). A three-CD, 1-Blu-ray “reactivation” of the original 2005 box set will also be available for $79.98.


    Composer and conductor Howard Shore wrote the score to all three LotR films, which collectively earned him three Oscars, two Golden Globes, and three Grammy Awards. He recorded the music for The Fellowship primarily with the London Philharmonic Orchestra, as well as with the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, the London Voices and the London Oratory School Schola. Enya also contributed two original songs to the OST, “May It Be” and “Aníron (Theme for Aragorn and Arwen)”, both of which are included on the reissue.

    Vinyl box sets for the other two scores — The Two Towers and The Return of the King — will be announced in the near future. For now, check out the tracklist for the vinyl Fellowship of the Rings collection and take a gander at the CD set.

    In related news, Amazon recently acquired the rights to The Lord of The Rings with plans for a new multi-season television adaptation.


    The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Rings CD Box Set

    The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Rings: The Complete Collection Box Set Tracklist:
    LP 1
    Side A
    01. Prologue: One Ring to Rule Them All
    02. The Shire
    03. Bag End
    04. Very Old Friends
    05. Flaming Red hair

    Side B
    01. Farewell Dear Bilbo
    02. Keep It Secret, Keep It Safe
    03. A Conspiracy Unmasked
    04. Three Is Company

    LP 2
    Side C
    01. The Passing Of The Elves
    02. Saruman the White
    03. A Shortcut to Mushrooms
    04. Strider
    05. The Nazgûl


    Side D
    01. Weathertop
    02. The Caverns of Isengard
    03. Give Up the Halfling
    04. Orthanc
    05. Rivendell
    06. The Sword That Was Broken

    LP 3
    Side E
    01. The Council of Elrond Assembles Featuring “Aníron (Theme for Aragorn and Arwen)” Composed & performed by Enya
    02. The Great Eye
    03. Gilraen’s Memorial
    04. The Pass of Caradhras

    Side F
    01. The Doors of Durin
    02. Moria
    03. Gollum
    04. Balin’s Tomb

    LP 4
    Side G
    01. Khazad-dûm
    02. Caras Galadhon Featuring “Lament for Gandalf” performed by Elizabeth Fraser


    Side H
    01. The Mirror of Galadriel
    02. The Fighting Uruk-hai

    LP 5
    Side I
    01. Parth Galen
    02. The Departure of Boromir

    Side J
    01. The Road Goes Ever On… Pt. 1
    02. May It Be Composed & performed by Enya
    03. The Road Goes Ever On… Pt. 2 Featuring “In Dreams” performed by Edward Ross


Around The Web