Elton John tribute album Revamp, featuring QOTSA, The Killers, Florence + The Machine, out now: Stream

Two new tribute LPs arrive today, one featuring pop and rock oriented artists, the other composed of country-style covers

Artwork for Elton John's Revamp tribute album
Artwork for Elton John’s Revamp tribute album

    Today, Elton John is being honored with not one, but two new tribute albums. One is called Revamp and finds pop and rock oriented artists tackling the piano legend; the other, titled Restoration, consists of country-style covers. Both are streaming via Apple Music and Spotify.

    The Rocket Man himself curated all of Revamp, which features ColdplayQ Tip with Demi LovatoThe Killers, Queens of the Stone AgeMumford and SonsFlorence and the Machine. There are also contributions from Mary J. BligeEd SheeranLady GagaSam SmithPink and Logic, and Alessia Cara.

    Restoration, meanwhile, was curated by John’s longtime writing partner Bernie Taupin. Contributors include Miley CyrusChris StapletonDierks Bentley, Dolly PartonKacey MusgravesWillie NelsonEmmylou Harris and Roseanne Cash, and Lee Ann Womack, among others.


    “It’s always a huge compliment when an artist loves your song enough to take the time and effort to rework it,” John said in a press release. “As songwriters, Bernie and myself are thrilled when singers we admire and respect as much as those on Revamp and Restoration choose to add their own unique twist in the process. It means that our music is still relevant and ultimately that our songs continue to reach new audiences. We’re humbled and thank them all for their generosity.”

    Both records come ahead of John’s lengthy farewell tour. And in addition to the releases, a tribute concert dubbed Elton John: I’m Still Standing A Grammy Salute is set to air April 10th at 9:00-11:00 ET/PT on CBS. Many of the album’s guests — including Cyrus, Lady Gaga, Lambert, Coldplay’s Chris Martin, and Cara — will also be part of the live performance. John Legend, Kesha, Shawn Mendes, and SZA are also expected to make appearances.


    Revamp Artwork:

    Revamp Tracklist:
    01. Bennie and The Jets — Elton John, P!nk, Logic
    02. We All Fall In Love Sometimes — Coldplay
    03. I Guess That’s Why They Call It The Blues — Alessia Cara
    04. Candle In The Wind — Ed Sheeran
    05. Tiny Dancer — Florence And The Machine
    06. Someone Saved My Life Tonight — Mumford and Sons
    07. Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word — Mary J. Blige
    08. Don’t Go Breaking My Heart — Q Tip feat. Demi Lovato
    09. Mona Lisas And Mad Hatters — The Killers
    10. Daniel — Sam Smith
    11. Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me — Miley Cyrus
    12. Your Song — Lady Gaga
    13. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road — Queens of the Stone Age

    Restoration Artwork:

    Restoration Tracklist:
    01. Rocket Man – Little Big Town
    02. Mona Lisas And Mad Hatters – Maren Morris
    03. Sacrifice – Don Henley and Vince Gill
    04. Take Me To The Pilot – Brothers Osborne
    05. My Father’s Gun – Miranda Lambert
    06. I Want Love – Chris Stapleton
    07. Honky Cat – Lee Ann Womack
    08. Roy Rogers – Kacey Musgraves
    09. Please – Rhonda Vincent and Dolly Parton
    10. The Bitch Is Back – Miley Cyrus
    11. Sad Songs (Say So Much) – Dierks Bentley
    12. This Train Don’t Stop – Rosanne Cash and Emmylou Harris
    13. Border Song – Willie Nelson