Ahead of their very own Beach Goth 2018 festival in Los Angeles, The Growlers have released a new album. The fuzz-laden, gritty collection is called Casual Acquaintances and available to stream in full below via Apple Music or Spotify.

Their sixth full-length overall follows City Club from 2016, which featured production from Julian Casablancas. Its 10 tracks, including synth-y lead single “Problems III”, date back at least two years, originating during the band’s City Club sessions. A press statement specifically notes the self-produced Casual Acquaintances consists of “demos, works-in-progress and other unfinished business” from that time. 


This year’s edition of Beach Goth goes down August 5th in downtown LA. It boasts a lineup of Casablancas’ The Voidz, The Drums, GWAR, and of course, The Growlers. After the festival, The Growlers — once dubbed Ellen DeGeneres’ favorite band — will continue on their “Beach Goth World Tour”, which runs until early November.

Casual Acquaintances Artwork (by Aleia Murawski and Sam Copeland):

growlers casual acquaintances album

Casual Acquaintances Tracklist:
01. Neveah
02. Problems III
03. Heaven in Hell
04. Pavement
05. Decoy Face
06. Orgasm of Death
07. Drop Your Phone in the Sick
08. Thing For Trouble
09. Last Cabaret
10. Casual Acquaintances