Metric details new album, Art Of Doubt, shares “Now Or Never Now”: Stream

The Canadian band's seventh studio album arrives later this month

Metric announce new album, "Dark Saturday" single

    Metric’s been teasing a new album all summer, but, despite the Canadian pop-rock outfit sharing singles like “Dark Saturday” and “Dressed to Suppress”, details on the LP remained scarce. Until now, that is. Metric’s seventh studio effort is called Art Of Doubt, and it arrives on September 21st via MMI/Crystal Math Music.

    Art of Doubt was recorded at Metric’s Giant Studio in Toronto, and saw producer Justin Meldal-Johnsen (M83, Nine Inch Nails) step in for guitarist Jimmy Shaw, the co-producer of the band’s last three albums. “Justin was just what we needed in a producer for this album,” Shaw said in a press release. “He really saw every band member eye to eye and was able to capture what we each do best. It was something I realized I couldn’t do at this stage, having been in the band for so long. We were finally able to focus on just playing again, as we did at the start. Making this album brought us together in a way we hadn’t been for quite some time and I think you can hear it in the music.”

    Metric has also released an energetic new single from the album, “Now Or Never Now”, which unfolds gracefully across six vibrant minutes. Singer Emily Haines breaks down the song’s themes thusly:

    “When you’re suddenly confronted with the fact that you’re rapidly running out of time to take action in your life, it isn’t always pretty. You can no longer afford the luxury of words like ‘eventually’ or indulge in the usual superficial fixes. ‘Now or Never Now’ is the song for anyone who has stagnated, paralyzed by past failures, in a state of regret. It’s the song for that point when you realize there’s no escaping what you’re trapped in unless you’re willing to get hurt again. Everything sucks in an exhilarating way. There’s nothing left to do but start over.”


    Hear it below.

    Metric is currently wrapping up a North American tour, and will embark on a European leg next month. See the full dates here, pre-order Art Of Doubt here, and check out the album’s artwork and tracklist below.

    Art of Doubt Artwork:

    metric art of doubt Metric details new album, Art Of Doubt, shares Now Or Never Now: Stream


    Art of Doubt Tracklist:
    01. Dark Saturday
    02. Love You Back
    03. Die Happy
    04. Now or Never Now
    05. Art of Doubt
    06. Underline the Black
    07. Dressed to Suppress
    08. Risk
    09. Seven Rules
    10. Holding Out
    11. Anticipate
    12. No Lights on the Horizon


Around The Web