The Good The Bad & The Queen premiere new single “Merrie Land”: Stream

The title track and lead single to the supergroup's long-awaited sophomore album

The Good The Bad The Queen
The Good The Bad The Queen, photo by Pennie Smith

    With Gorillaz’s Humanz tour winding down, mastermind Damon Albarn is looking ahead to his next project. As we noted late last week, Albarn has reactivated his supergroup The Good The Bad & The Queen for the release of a new album called Merrie Land, which is set to arrive on November 16th. Below, you can stream the album’s title track, which also serves as its first single.

    The Good, The Bad & The Queen, which features Albarn alongside The Clash’s Paul Simonon, The Verve’s Simon Tong, and Fela Kuti drummer Tony Allen, released their self-titled debut album way back in 2007. Albarn has called the long-awaited follow-up record “an ode to the North of England,” one which he worked on with David Bowie producer Tony Visconti.


    Merrie Land Tracklist:
    01. Merrie Land
    02. Gun to the Head
    03. Nineteen Seventeen
    04. The Great Fire
    05. Lady Boston
    06. Drifters & Trawlers
    07. The Truce of Twilight
    08. Ribbons
    09. The Last Man to Leave
    10. The Poison Tree


    The Good The Bad & The Queen have also begun to map out a supporting tour in promotion of Merrie Land. Next week, they’re scheduled to appear on Later… with Jools Holland, which they’ll follow up in December with a run of UK shows.

    The Good The Bad & The Queen 2018 Tour Dates:
    12/01 – Blackpool, UK @ The North Pier
    12/02 – Glasgow, UK @ SWG3
    12/04 – London, UK @ Hackney Arts Centre
    12/05 – London, UK @ Hackney Arts Centre
    12/06 – London, UK @ Hackney Arts Centre

Around The Web