New Order announces Movement (Definitive Edition) box set featuring unreleased material

The band's also reissuing four singles from that era in the lead up to the set's release

New Order, photo by Heather Kaplan
New Order, photo by Heather Kaplan

    Get ready to go back to the beginning: New Order have announced a box set for their 1981 debut album, Movement, in addition to reissues of four singles that were released around the same time but were not featured on the album.

    Due out April 5th via Rhino, the Movement (Definitive Edition) box set will include the original album on both vinyl and CD (with a replica of the original sleeve designed by Peter Saville), a bonus CD of unreleased material, a DVD of live performances, and a hardcover book. The set is housed in a lift-off lid box that will cost you $140 bucks.

    The four aforementioned singles will precede the box set’s release and arrive on March 8th, specifically:  “Ceremony (version 1),” “Ceremony (version 2),” “Everything’s Gone Green”, and “Temptation”.


    There’s an alluring underdog story to Movement. The album was recorded less than a year following the tragic and unexpected death of Joy Division frontman Ian Curtis, and went on to introduce a new band with completely new music that hinted at a new sound. It was essentially the phoenix that rose out of the ashes, one that would go on to help define an entire decade and continue until today.

    Consult the artwork and full tracklist below.

    Movement (Definitive Edition) Artwork:

    Movement (Definitive Edition) Tracklist:
    LP/CD 1:
    01. Dreams Never End
    02. Truth
    03. Senses
    04. Chosen Time
    05. ICB
    06. The Him
    07. Doubts Even Here
    08. Denial

    CD 2:
    01. Dreams Never End (Western Works Demo)
    02. Homage (Western Works Demo)
    03. Ceremony (Western Works Demo)
    04. Truth (Western Works Demo)
    05. Are You Ready For This? (Western Works Demo)
    06. The Him (Cargo Demo)
    07. Senses (Cargo Demo)
    08. Truth (Cargo Demo)
    09. Dreams Never End (Cargo Demo)
    10. Mesh (Cargo Demo)
    11. ICB (Cargo Demo)
    12. Procession (Cargo Demo)
    13. Cries And Whispers (Cargo Demo)
    14. Doubts Even Here (Instrumental) (Cargo Demo)
    15. Ceremony (1st Mix – Ceremony Sessions)
    16. Temptation (Alternative 7″)
    17. Procession (Rehearsal Recording)
    18. Chosen Time (Rehearsal Recording)


    New Order – Movement DVD:
    Live Shows
    Hurrah’s, NY 1980

    01. In A Lonely Place
    02. Procession
    03. Dreams Never End
    04. Mesh
    05. Truth
    06. Cries & Whispers
    07. Denial
    08. Ceremony

    Recorded on 27th September, 1980.
    Produced, directed and filmed by Merrill Aldighieri

    Peppermint Lounge, NY 1981
    01. In A Lonely Place
    02. Dreams Never End
    03. Chosen Time
    04. ICB
    05. Senses
    06. Denial
    07. Everything’s Gone Green
    08. Hurt – instrumental
    09. Temptation

    TV Sessions
    Granada Studios 1981
    01. Doubts Even Here
    02. The Him
    03. Procession
    04. Senses
    05. Denial


    BBC Riverside 1982
    01. Temptation
    02. Chosen Time
    03. Procession
    04. Hurt – instrumental
    05. Senses
    06. Denial
    07. In A Lonely Place

    01. Ceremony (CoManCHE Student Union 1981)
    02. In A Lonely Place (Toronto 1981)
    03. Temptation (Soul Kitchen, Newcastle 1982)
    04. Hurt (Le Palace, Paris 1982)
    05. Procession (Le Palace, Paris 1982)
    06. Chosen Time (Pennies 1982)
    07. Truth (The Haçienda 1983)
    08. ICB (Minneapolis 1983)

    12″ Singles:

    “Ceremony (version 1)”
    Recorded at Eastern Artists Recordings in East Orange, New Jersey during the US visit the previous September, New Order’s first single might, in an alternative universe, have been Joy Division’s next. The 12″ single, originally released in March 1981 (the 7″ having been released in January) including the original version of “Ceremony,” will feature remastered audio on heavyweight vinyl.


    Side 1:
    “Ceremony (version 1)”
    Side 2:
    “In A Lonely Place”

    “Ceremony (version 2)”
    The alternative, re-recorded version of “Ceremony” now also featuring Gillian Gilbert in the band was released later in 1981 and will feature the later alternative ‘cream’ sleeve rather than the original green and copper. This 12″ will feature remastered audio on heavyweight vinyl.

    Side 1:
    “Ceremony (version 2)”
    Side 2:
    “In A Lonely Place”

    “Everything’s Gone Green”
    Originally released on Factory Benelux in December 1981, this 12″ featured “Everything’s Gone Green,” which had previously been on the reverse of the band’s second 7″ single “Procession” in September 1981, and “Cries And Whispers” and “Mesh” whose titles were flipped on the cover causing confusion amongst fans and compilers ever since. This 12″ will feature remastered audio on heavyweight vinyl.

    Side 1:
    “Everything’s Gone Green”
    Side 2:
    “Cries And Whispers”


    Featuring the full versions of both tracks this 12″ was first release in May 1982 and were the first self-produced released recordings. With “Temptation” being a cast iron New Order classic, this is an essential part of any New Order collection. This 12″ will feature remastered audio on heavyweight vinyl.

    Side 1:
    Side 2: