Weezer release The Teal Album, featuring covers of Tears For Fears, Eurythmics, ELO, and more: Stream

The surprise 10-track LP arrives ahead of The Black Album, due out in March

Weezer, 80s Covers, Teal Album, Covers Album
Weezer – The Teal Album

    On March 1st, Weezer are set to release The Black Album. To tide fans over until then, Rivers Cuomo and co. have just unveiled a surprise 10-track covers LP which they’ve dubbed, The Teal Album.

    The tracklist comprises mainly of 80s-themed covers, kicking off with the band’s chart-topping version of Toto’s “Africa” and also featuring renditions of Tears For Fears’ “Everybody Wants to Rule the World”, The Eurythmics’ “Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)”, a-ha’s “Take On Me”, and Michael Jackson’s “Billie Jean”.

    Other notable covers include Electric Light Orchestra’s “Mr. Blue Sky”, Black Sabbath’s “Paranoid”, and TLC’s “No Scrubs”.


    Take a listen to The Teal Album below. Physical copies of the album — which include limited-edition bundles with velcro wallets and signed dollar bills — are available through Weezer’s website.

    The Teal Album and The Black Album mark the fifth and sixth entries in Weezer’s color palette of albums. Previously, they released The Blue Album (1994), The Green Album (2001), The Red Album (2008), and The White Album (2016).


    Weezer (The Teal Album) Artwork:

    Weezer's Teal Album

    Weezer (The Teal Album) Tracklist:
    01. Africa (Toto)
    02. Everybody Wants to Rule the World (Tears for Fears)
    03. Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This) (The Eurythmics)
    04. Take On Me (a-ha)
    05. Happy Together (The Turtles)
    06. Paranoid (Black Sabbath)
    07. Mr. Blue Sky (Electric Light Orchestra)
    08. No Scrubs (TLC)
    09. Billie Jean (Michael Jackson)
    10. Stand By Me (Ben E. King)