Kehlani announces new mixtape, While We Wait, shares “Butterfly”: Stream

Oakland R&B singer's SweetSexySavage follow-up arrives this month

Kehlani While We Wait mixtape "Butterfly" new single

    Last month, Kehlani teased that two new projects, a mixtape and album, would soon be coming down the pipeline. The R&B singer has made good on at least one of those promises, today formally announcing a new tape: While We Wait is set to hit shelves February 22nd.

    While We Wait follows Kehlani’s 2017 album, SweetSexySavage. It’s comprised of a total of nine songs, including the previously shared “Nights Like This” collaboration with Ty Dolla $ign. Additional guests such as 6LACK, Musiq Soulchild, and Dom Kennedy also appear on the mixtape.

    To coincide with the announcement, Kehlani has shared a second preview in the form of “Butterfly”. Like a butterfly spreading its wings for the first time, Kehlani’s vocals can be heard gracefully stretching as she sings about a new, exciting prospect that she’s hoping will bloom into something more.


    “Oh, I feel it comin, got a rush like I’m runnin/ No, don’t go lookin’ for somethin”, she croons. “You make me feel brand new.”

    Take a listen below.


    Check out the mixtape’s artwork and full tracklist.

    While We Wait Artwork:

    kehlani while we wait mixtape cover artwork

    While We Wait Tracklist:
    01. Footsteps (feat. Musiq Soulchild)
    02. Too Deep
    03. Nunya (feat. Dom Kennedy)
    04. Morning Glory
    05. Feels
    06. Nights Like This (feat. Ty Dolla $ign)
    07. PG (feat. 6LACK)
    08. Butterfly
    09. Love Language


Personalized Stories

Around The Web