Blanck Mass announces new album, Animated Violence Mild, shares “House vs. House”: Stream

Benjamin John Power grieves for the world on his fourth LP

blanck mass new album animated violence mild announcement electronic music
Blanck Mass, photo by Harrison Reid

    Experimental electronic artist Blanck Mass is prepping his fourth studio effort for release this summer. Animated Violence Mild follows well-received records World Eater in 2017 and 2015’s Dumb Flesh.

    The eight-track LP was written throughout 2018 by Blanck Mass, aka Fuck Buttons founder Benjamin John Power. Self-discovery and a dedication to craftsmanship inspired the Scotland-based musician.

    (Read: The Big Business of Electronic Music Culture)

    Grief is also a theme throughout the album; in both a personal sense and global sense, “for what we as a species have lost and handed over to our blood-sucking counterpart, consumerism, only to be ravaged by it,” according to a statement.


    “I believe that many of us have willfully allowed our survival instinct to become engulfed by the snake we birthed,” Power added. “Animated — brought to life by humankind. Violent — insurmountable and wild beyond our control. Mild — delicious.”

    Lead single “House vs. House” gives fans their first taste of the new record. Echoing the LP’s subject matter, it’s a chaotic listen and a snapshot of the world in utter disarray. Hear it below.

    Animated Violence Mild arrives August 12th through Sacred Bones. Peep the artwork and full tracklist below.


    Animated Violence Mild Artwork:

    blanck mass animated violence mild album artwork Blanck Mass announces new album, Animated Violence Mild, shares House vs. House: Stream

    Animated Violence Mild Tracklist:
    01. Intro
    02. Death Drop
    03. House vs. House
    04. Hush Money
    05. Love is a Parasite
    06. Creature / West Fuqua
    07. No Dice
    08. Wings of Hate

Personalized Stories

Around The Web