Blood Orange’s Dev Hynes announces Fields, his first classical music album

The classically trained artist worked with Grammy-winning ensemble Third Coast Percussion


Blood Orange’s Dev Hynes, photo by Philip Cosores

    Blood Orange genius Dev Hynes has announced Fields, his first-ever album of classical music. The effort is marked for an October 11th release date through Cedille.

    Fields boasts 13 compositions in total, 11 of which comprise a suite called “For All Its Fury”. Hynes himself composed all the music, which was then arranged and orchestrated by the Grammy-winning Chicago ensemble Third Coast Percussion.

    “This was the first time I’ve written music that I’ve never played, and I love that,” Hynes commented in a statement. “It’s something I’ve always been striving to get to. Seeing what Third Coast Percussion had done with these pieces was magical.”

    (Read: Flow Festival Review: The Cure, Robyn, and Blood Orange Party for the Planet)


    Although Fields is Hynes’ first official classical music record, he grew up classically trained and “it’s the music that I mainly listen to,” Hynes once told Red Bull Music. The Blood Orange artist has also performed with renowned composer Philip Glass numerous times at places like Carnegie Hall. (He even once beautifully covered Glass’ “Metamorphosis III”.) Additionally, in November 2017 Hynes composed a piece titled “Suite Per il Servo Moro” for piano and cello during a studio residency in Florence.

    Fields follows the release of Hynes’ Blood Orange mixtape, Angel’s Pulse. It also comes amidst his fall tour alongside Tyler, the Creator. Grab tickets to all of his shows here.

    Check out the Fields artwork and full tracklist below.

    Fields Artwork:

    blood orange dev hynes fields album artwork Blood Oranges Dev Hynes announces Fields, his first classical music album

    Fields Tracklist:
    01. Reach
    02. Blur
    03. Coil
    04. Wane
    05. Curl
    06. Hush
    07. Gather
    08. Tremble
    09. Cradle
    10. Press
    11. Fields
    12. Perfectly Voiceless
    13. There Was Nothing


    Revisit his Glass cover and “Suite Per il Servo Moro” composition:

Personalized Stories

Around The Web