James Gunn has finally confirmed the cast for his forthcoming DC blockbuster The Suicide Squad. After months of waiting on pins and needles, the Guardians of the Galaxy filmmaker shared the full cast on his Twitter account.

Those carrying over from David Ayer’s original 2016 blockbuster include Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn, Viola Davis as Amanda Waller, Jai Courtney as Captain Boomerang, and Joel Kinnaman as Flagg. All were expected.

The new additions, however, consist of a jaw-dropping assembly of names, specifically Idris Elba, Michael Rooker, Peter Capaldi, John Cena, Nathan Fillion, Pete Davidson, Taika Waititi, Mayling Ng, Flula Borg, Sean Gunn, Juan Diego Botto, Storm Reid, Alica Braga, Steve Agee, Tinashe Kajese, Daniela Melchior, Julio Ruiz, Jennifer HollandJoaquin Cosio, and David Dastmalchian.


As of now, it’s unclear who’s playing who, at least for the majority of the new additions. Dastmalchian self-confirmed that he’s playing Polka-Dot Man, Cena is rumored to be playing Peacekeeper, Melchior is believed to be playing Rat Catcher, and many speculate Agee to be voicing King Shark. As Gunn warns in his tweet, “Don’t get too attached.”

The Suicide Squad is currently set for an August 6th, 2021 release date. Gunn will write and direct the film, which has been described as a “relaunch” as opposed to a “sequel.”

Should be great.