POND announce new live album, share version of “Don’t Look at the Sun (Or Else You’ll Go Blind)”: Stream

Sessions features in-studio recordings from the band's recent tour

Pond Live album Sessions
POND, photo by Pooneh Ghana

    POND have announced a new live album called Sessions. Due out November 8th via Spinning Top/Interscope Records, the LP serves as a companion release to Aussie psych-rockers’ latest studio full-length, Tasmania.

    Due out digitally and on vinyl, Sessions comprises one-shot studio performances recorded while POND were on tour across Europe this past spring. The tracks are drawn from all across the band’s discography up to and including the Kevin Parker-produced Tasmania.

    POND’s ever-changing lineup has shared past and current members with Tame Impala, including multi-instrumentalists Nick Allbrook and Jay Watson. Here’s what Watson had to say of the live album in a press release:

    “We wanted to capture how the band has been playing live lately and commit that to tape while we were in the middle of a long tour. As you play the same song for years, or even as a single tour rolls on, the way you play the songs mutates. Little inflections and fills become part of the song, and the structures and even the overall feeling and intent of the songs change. I always loved listening to my favorite bands’ ‘Peel Sessions’ and wanted something of our own in that vein. We hope you dig it!”


    Today we get a first listen to the live effort with “Don’t Look at the Sun (Or You’ll Go Blind)”, which definitely has intonations of the slippery melodies Tame Impala deploy. The track originally came from POND’s 2009 debut LP, Psychedelic Mango. Check it out below.

    Pre-orders and pre-saves for Sessions are going on over at POND’s website. Fans who have purchased tickets to attend the band’s upcoming North American tour will also be able to pick up the vinyl at the shows. Those dates can be found below, and tickets can be found here.

    Sessions Artwork: 

    Pond Sessions Album ArtworkSessions Tracklist:
    01. Daisy
    02. Paint Me Silver
    03. Sweep Me Off My Feet
    04. Don’t Look at the Sun (Or You’ll Go Blind)
    05. Hand Mouth Dancer
    06. Burnt Out Star
    07. Tasmania
    08. Fire in the Water
    09. The Weather
    10. Medicine Hat
    11. Man It Feels Like Space Again

    POND 2019-2020 Tour Dates:
    09/21 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw $
    09/22 – Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts $
    09/23 – Washington, D.C. @ Black Cat $
    09/25 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent #
    09/29 – Los Angeles, CA @ Fonda Theater #
    10/26 – Copenhagen, DK @ Loppen
    10/27 – Berlin, DE @ Bi Nuu
    10/29 – Amsterdam, NL @ Melkweg
    10/30 – Brussels, BE @ Orangerie Botanique
    10/31 – Paris, FR @ Elsyee Montmarte
    11/02 – Birmingham, UK @ The Crossing
    11/03 – Glasgow, UK @ Saint Luke’s
    11/04 – Manchester, UK @ Academy 2
    11/05 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
    11/06 – London, UK @ Electric Brixton
    01/10 – Melbourne, AUS @ Festival Hall *
    01/11 – Sydney, AUS @ Hordern Pavilion *
    01/15 – Brisbane, AUS @ Fortitude Music Hall *
    01/18 – Perth, AUS @ Red Hill *
    $ = w/ The Muckers
    # = w/ Maraschino
    * = w/ Mac DeMarco

Personalized Stories

Around The Web