Thurston Moore covers New Order’s “Leave Me Alone”: Stream

The B-side to a series of 7-inch singles due out November

thurston moore new order cover leave me alone stream
Thurston Moore (photo by Lior Phillips) and New Order (photo by Ben Kaye)

    Thurston Moore is dropping his new album, Spirit Counsel, in just a matter of days, but already the alt-rocker has three more releases in the pipeline. Later this fall, the Sonic Youth co-founder will drop a trio of 7-inch singles, all featuring a special New Order cover as a B-side.

    The A-sides are titled “Pollination”, “Spring Swells”, and “Three Graces”. Each features different excerpts from the Thurston Moore Group’s live performances this year, mixed by composer Wobbly.

    (Read: Sonic Youth’s Daydream Nation Became a Guiding Light for Fearless Artists)

    Backing the A-sides is Moore’s rendition of “Leave Me Alone”, from the 1983 New Order album, Power, Corruption & Lies. Rather aptly, it was recorded by Moore in Salford, the hometown of New Order’s Bernard Sumner and Peter Hook.


    In anticipation, Moore has shared his New Order cover, gleaming guitars and all, below. Take a listen.


    The upcoming 7-inch releases are due out November 8th through Moore’s own Daydream Library Series. They’re available for pre-order herehere, and here.

    Moore’s Spirit Counsel, which is set to feature “epic instrumental pieces”, officially hits shelves September 21st. A supporting tour is lined up for October.


Around The Web