Big Star’s #1 Record and Radio City receiving new vinyl reissues

Both albums have received an all-analog mastering

Big Star #1 Record Radio City Reissue
Big Star

    As years pass, Big Star remain a cult favorite among alternative rock music lovers. Now, Craft Recordings has announced vinyl reissues of the Memphis rocker’s first two albums, #1 Record and Radio City.

    Due out January 24th, each record is pressed on 180-gram vinyl and features an all-analog mastering from Jeff Powell at Memphis’ Take Out Vinyl. Pre-orders for #1 Record and Radio City are both available now, and special merch bundles can be found through the label’s online store.

    (Read: Big Star, Radio City, and the Downside of Being a Cult Favorite)

    The albums come from the group’s initial run in the early ’70s before disbanding in 1974, followed by the tragic death of singer Chris Bell four years later. Over the decades Big Star’s songs have become cult classics, receiving attention from shows likeThat ’70s Show and multiple tributes over the years, including the 2016 concert celebrating their album Third, featuring members of Wilco, Yo La Tengo, and Big Star’s sole remaining member drummer Jody Stephens.


    The group briefly reformed with a new lineup in the ’90s, however, the early years and first two records remain favorites among most, including the Yeah Yeah Yeahs who covered the #1 Record hit “Thirteen” back in 2018.

    Check out the full artwork and tracklisting for each vinyl reissue below.

     #1 Record and Radio City Artwork:

    Big Star #1 Record Radio City Vinyl Reissue Artwork

    #1 Record Tracklist:
    Side A
    01. Feel
    02. The Ballad of El Goodo
    03. In the Street
    04. Thirteen
    05. Don’t Lie to Me
    06. The India Song
    Side B
    1. When My Baby’s Beside Me
    2. My Life Is Right
    3. Give Me Another Chance
    4. Try Again
    5. Watch the Sunrise
    6. ST 100/6
    Radio City Tracklist: 
    Side A
    01. O, My Soul
    02. Life Is White
    03. Way Out West
    04. What’s Goin’ Ahn
    05. You Get What You Deserve
    Side B
    01. Mod Lang
    02. Back of a Car
    03. Daisy Glaze
    04. She’s a Mover
    05. September Gurls
    06. Morpha Too
    07. I’m in Love with a Girl

Personalized Stories

Around The Web