Bass maestro Thundercat returns April 3rd with his fourth studio album. The follow-up to 2017’s masterful Drunk is titled It Is What It Is and boasts a number of high-profile collaborations.

Special guests include Childish Gambino, Kamasi Washington, Ty Dolla $ign, and Steve Lacy. Lil B, BADBADNOTGOOD, and veteran Ohio soul musician Steve Arrington appear on the new album, too, as does Flying Lotus, who also executive produced alongside Thundercat.

Thundercat is previewing It Is What It Is today with a lead single called “Black Qualls” featuring both Lacy and Arrington. According to a statement, the album version of the song also features Childish Gambino.


“Black Qualls” is said to address what it means to be a young black American. “What it feels like to be in this position right now,” explained Thundercat, aka Stephen Lee Bruner. “…The weird ins and outs, we’re talking about those feelings… Part of me knew this [track] was where Steve [Arrington] left us.”

(Read: The Top 100 Albums of the 2010s)

Check out “Black Qualls” below.

In 2019, Thundercat contributed extensively to Flying Lotus’ Flamagra album. The year prior saw both artists compose an original score for an episode of FX’s Atlanta, which stars Childish Gambino, aka Donald Glover.

Next month, Thundercat will embark on his longest North American headlining tour. Grab your concert tickets here.


It Is What It Is Artwork:


It Is What It Is Tracklist:
01. Lost In Space / Great Scott / 22-26
02. Innerstellar Love
03. I Love Louis Cole (feat. Louis Cole)
04. Black Qualls (feat. Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington, & Childish Gambino)
05. Miguel’s Happy Dance
06. How Sway
07. Funny Thing
08. Overseas (feat. Zack Fox)
09. Dragonball Durag
10. How I Feel
11. King Of The Hill
12. Unrequited Love
13. Fair Chance (feat. Ty Dolla $ign & Lil B)
14. Existential Dread
15. It Is What It Is