The Magnetic Fields Announce New Album Quickies, Set Intimate US Tour

Stream lead single "The Day the Politicians Died"

the magnetic fields quickies new album music release tour dates tickets
The Magnetic Fields’ Stephin Merritt, photo via Facebook

    This spring brings the release of a new album from The Magnetic Fields. Entitled Quickies, it comes more than three years after their 50 Song Memoir and is due May 15th via Nonesuch Records. To coincide with the news, the group has announced a supporting US tour.

    The upcoming effort collects a generous 28 songs. But as indicated by the album’s name, each of the Stephin Merritt-penned tracks are relatively quick, ranging in length from 13 seconds to three minutes. In a statement (via Pitchfork), Merritt talked about his decision to keep things concise, saying,

    “I’ve been reading a lot of very short fiction, and I enjoyed writing 101 Two-Letter Words, the poetry book about the shortest words you can use in Scrabble. And I’ve been listening to a lot of French baroque harpsichord music. Harpsichord doesn’t lend itself to languor. So I’ve been thinking about one instrument at a time, playing for about a minute or so and then stopping, and I’ve been thinking of narratives that are only a few lines long.”

    The Magnetic Fields — rounded out by Sam Davol, Claudia Gonson, Shirley Simms, and John Woo — are teasing the new LP with “The Day the Politicians Died”, a two-minute piano number. Hear that below.


    The indie outfit will promote the album with intimate City Winery shows in Chicago, Nashville, Boston, Atlanta, Philadelphia, New York, and Washington, DC. General on-sale begins February 28th and tickets will be available on Ticketmaster. Once they sell out there, fans can try their luck here.

    The Magnetic Fields 2020 Tour Dates:
    06/01 – Chicago, IL @ City Winery
    06/02 – Chicago, IL @ City Winery
    06/03 – Chicago, IL @ City Winery
    06/04 – Chicago, IL @ City Winery
    06/06 – Nashville, TN @ City Winery
    06/08 – Atlanta, GA @ City Winery
    06/09 – Atlanta, GA @ City Winery
    06/11 – Boston, MA @ City Winery
    06/12 – Boston, MA @ City Winery
    06/13 – Boston, MA @ City Winery
    06/19 – Washington, DC @ City Winery
    06/20 – Washington, DC @ City Winery
    06/21 – Washington, DC @ City Winery
    06/24 – Philadelphia, PA @ City Winery
    06/25 – Philadelphia, PA @ City Winery
    06/26 – Philadelphia, PA @ City Winery
    06/28 – New York, NY @ City Winery
    06/29 – New York, NY @ City Winery
    06/30 – New York, NY @ City Winery
    07/01 – New York, NY @ City Winery

    Quickies Artwork:


    Quickies Tracklist:
    01. Castles of America
    02. The Biggest Tits in History
    03. The Day the Politicians Died
    04. Castle Down a Dirt Road
    05. Bathroom Quickie
    06. My Stupid Boyfriend
    07. Love Gone Wrong
    08. Favorite Bar
    09. Kill a Man a Week
    10. Kraftwerk in a Blackout
    11. When She Plays the Toy Piano
    12. Death Pact (Let’s Make A)
    13. I’ve Got a Date with Jesus
    14. Come, Life, Shaker Life!
    15. (I Want to Join A) Biker Gang
    16. Rock ‘n’ Roll Guy
    17. You’ve Got a Friend in Beelzebub
    18. Let’s Get Drunk Again (And Get Divorced)
    19. The Best Cup of Coffee in Tennessee
    20. When the Brat Upstairs Got a Drum Kit
    21. The Price You Pay
    22. The Boy in the Corner
    23. Song of the Ant
    24. I Wish I Had Fangs and a Tail
    25. Evil Rhythm
    26. She Says Hello
    27. The Little Robot Girl
    28. I Wish I Were a Prostitute Again