Sufjan Stevens and Lowell Brams Drop New Album Aporia Early: Stream

Stevens reunites with his stepfather on a new 21-track project

Sufjan Stevens and Lowell Brams Aporia New Album Early Stream Live
Jeannette Woodward, John Ringhofer (Half-handed Cloud), Lowell Brams, Sufjan Stevens

    Sufjan Stevens and his stepfather Lowell Brams have unveiled their New Age album AporiaOriginally set to drop on March 27th, the family band has pushed up the release, hoping to get Aporia into record stores before the COVID-19 pandemic forces any more retailers to shutter. Stream it below via Apple Music or Spotify.

    Brams and Stevens have been playing together for years, even before they founded Asthmatic Kitty Records in 1999. The pair most recently collaborated on the 2008 project Music for Insomnia, while Stevens excellent solo record Carrie & Lowell  honored his late mother through the lens of her marriage to Brams. Aporia was recorded over several years of jam sessions, curated and distilled down from “hours upon hours of music”.

    In a statement on the AKR website, Stevens and Brams wrote about what it meant to release new music at a time of uncertainty.

    The word “aporia” is Greek in origin, literally meaning “without passage” or “at a loss.” This is a good description of how many of us feel right now. What is happening? What happens next? What can we do? What now? We harbor no delusions of grandeur—this record is hardly the most important thing in your world right now—but we also believe that music is sacred and has the ability to bring beauty, wisdom, truth and light to our lives in difficult times. We hope this music can bring you meaning, hope and encouragement today. We are donating 50% of the proceeds from the sale of Aporia to food-focused COVID19 charities No Kid Hungry as well as to Partners in Health. We encourage you to donate and help out as much as you can.


    Physical copies of Aporia are available in CD, LP, or cassette. Stevens and Brams previewed the album with the singles “The Unlimited”, “The Runaround”, and “Climb That Mountain”. Last fall, Stevens released his score for the ballet The Decalogue.

    Aporia Artwork:

    sufjan stevens aporia album Sufjan Stevens and stepfather Lowell Brams team up on new album, share The Unlimited: Stream

    Aporia Tracklist:
    01. Ousia
    02. What It Takes
    03. Disinheritance
    04. Agathon
    05. Determined Outcome
    06. Misology
    07. Afterworld Alliance
    08. Palinodes
    09. Backhanded Cloud
    10. Glorious You
    11. For Raymond Scott
    12. Matronymic
    13. The Red Desert
    14. Conciliation
    15. Ataraxia
    16. The Unlimited
    17. The Runaround
    18. Climb That Mountain
    19. Captain Praxis
    20. Eudaimonia
    21. The Lydian Ring