Wire Announce New Album 10:20, North American Tour

Stream a new version of "Small Black Reptile"

wire 1020
Wire, photo by Fergus Kelly

    Wire rang in the new year with their 17th (!) studio effort, Mind Hive. There’s plenty more to come from post-punk veterans, though, as they’ve just announced another album. 10:20 is due out Record Store Day, April 18th, and will be supported with a new round of North American tour dates.

    10:20 is comprised of eight songs, or “strays” as the band calls them. These recordings either couldn’t fit on previously released albums or have “evolved substantially through live performance, and so deserved a new life on record,” per a statement.

    The first half of the LP was recorded in 2010 and features contributions from Laika member Margaret Fielder and Matthew Simms, just as he was being brought in as an official member of Wire. As for the last four tracks, they came together more recently with the current lineup of Simms, Colin Newman, Graham Lewis, and Robert Grey.


    To tease 10:20, the English group has shared an updated version of “Small Black Reptile”. The track originally appeared on the 1990 Wire album, Manscape. Stream it below.

    Wire’s newest leg of concerts takes place in October and features stops in Vancouver, Seattle, San Francisco, Phoenix, and Los Angeles. Grab your tickets here.

    Wire 2020 Tour Dates:
    03/11 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
    03/12 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
    03/13 – Boston, MA @ Sinclair
    03/14 – Ottawa, ON @ Bronson Centre
    03/16 – Toronto, ON @ Great Hall
    03/18 – Austin, TX @ Barracuda
    03/21 – London, UK @ Islington Assembly Hall
    10/08 – Victoria, BC @ Capital Ballroom
    10/09 – Vancouver, BC @ Imperial
    10/10 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile
    10/11 – Portland, OR @ Star Theater
    10/13 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
    10/15 – Solana Beach, CA @ Belly Up
    10/16 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Regent
    10/17 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Crescent Ballroom
    10/18 – Tucson, AZ @ 191 Toole


    10:20 Artwork:


    10:20 Tracklist:
    01. Boiling Boy
    02. German Shepherds
    03. He Knows
    04. Underwater Experience
    05. The Art of Persistence
    06. Small Black Reptile
    07. Wolf Collides
    08. Over Theirs