Woods Announce New Album Strange to Explain

Listen to the first single, "Where Do You Go When You Dream?"

Woods Strange To Explain Where Do You Go When You Dream
Woods, photo by Alex Bleeker

    Woods have announced their new album, Strange to Explain, due out May 22nd through the band’s label, Woodsist. In anticipation, they’ve shared the record’s first single, “Where Do You Go When You Dream?”, and new tour dates.

    Marking the band’s 11th full-length to date, it’s one that comes after a good amount of change for the band. According to a press release, following their 2017 LP Love is Love, frontman Jeremy Earl became a father, and guitarist Jarvis Taveniere relocated to Los Angeles, turning the group bicoastal. The bandmates also took time to produce David Berman’s sole album as Purple Mountains.

    Recorded in Stinson Beach, Strange to Explain is one the group took their time with, serving as a “sweet reflection for the 15-year-old band, bouncing back to earth as something hopeful and weird and resolute,” says the press release.


    While Woods is known for their combustive psych-rock jam moments, “Where Do You Go When You Sleep?” is a track that rides an even-keeled groove, feeling dreamy and sun-kissed. It comes equipped with a music video, interwoven with lyrics and animation by John Andrews. Watch it ahead.

    Pre-orders for Strange to Explain are up and running now. Following the album’s release, the band will be hitting the road for a quick run of west coast dates, kicking off June 12th at the Huichica Festival, then jumping up to Seattle and heading back down to California, wrapping on June 20th in Los Angeles.

    Check out Woods’ tour dates following the album artwork and tracklist below, and get any tickets here.



    Strange to Explain Artwork:

    Woods Strange To Explain Album ArtworkStrange to Explain Tracklist:
    01. Next to You and the Sea
    02. Where Do You Go When You Dream?
    03. Before They Pass By
    04. Can’t Get Out
    005. Strange to Explain
    06. The Void
    07. Just to Fall Asleep
    08. Fell so Hard
    09. Light of Day
    10. Be There Still
    11. Weekend Wind

    2020 Tour Dates:
    06/12-13 – Sonoma, CA @ Huichica Festival
    06/15 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile
    06/17 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
    06/19 – Los Angeles, CA @ Zebulon
    06/20 – Los Angeles, CA @ Getty Museum for Off The 405 Series