Tom Petty’s Estate Announces Wildflowers & All the Rest Box Set

Stream an unreleased home recording of "Wildflowers"

Tom Petty, photo by Mark Seliger
Tom Petty, photo by Mark Seliger

    Tom Petty originally envisioned 1994’s Wildflowers as a double album, but was forced to cut a number of songs when it came time to finalizing the official tracklist. Some of those eventually ended up on later projects — such as Petty’s She’s the One soundtrack — however, most were stashed away in the archives for decades to come. Now, those “lost” recordings are being unearthed as part of a massive and long-awaited Wildflowers reissue.

    Officially titled Wildflowers & All the Rest, the comprehensive, multi-disc collection pairs the original album with a plethora of bonus material sure to have fans giddy. Five previously unreleased tracks are contained on the “All the Rest” disc, while “Home Recordings” consists of home studio tracks. Another disc that’s called “Alternate Versions” (aka Finding Wildflowers) comes with 16 alternate takes of Wildflowers songs, captured just as Petty, his bandmates, and producer Rick Rubin neared the end of completing the final album.

    The forthcoming re-release was curated by Petty’s daughters, Adria and Annakim, and wife Dana, who described it as “many, many hours of pure sonic joy.” Petty’s Heartbreakers members Mike Campbell and Benmont Tench also had a hand in putting together the sprawling effort, while longtime engineer Ryan Ulyate oversaw production.


    Wildflowers & All the Rest is due out October 16th via Warner Records and will be available in multiple formats. The Super Deluxe Edition — spread across five CDs and nine LPs — boasts the most goodies, including a “Wildflowers Live” disc of 14 live performances, an introduction written by Rubin, and an essay from veteran music journalist David Fricke.

    As a teaser, check out the solo demo version of “Wildflowers”. Its accompanying video features never-before-seen footage of Petty working on Wildflowers at his home. The clip was shot by Mary Atkins and co-directed by Alan Bibby and Jonny Kofoed.

    In Fricke’s liner notes on the track, he writes, “It would be some time before he understood the complexity of ‘Wildflowers.’ It was, he realized, ‘me singing about me.’”


    Watch it below and then head here to pre-order Wildflowers & All the Rest. For more of the reissue, listen to a demo of “You Don’t Know How It Feels” and the previously unreleased song “There Goes Angela”.

    Tom Petty's Wildflowers Super Deluxe Reissue

    Tom Petty’s Wildflowers Super Deluxe Reissue

    Wildflowers & All the Rest Tracklist:

    01. Wildflowers
    02. You Don’t Know How It Feels
    03. Time to Move On
    04. You Wreck Me
    05. It’s Good to Be King
    06. Only a Broken Heart
    07. Honey Bee
    08. Don’t Fade on Me
    09. Hard on Me
    10. Cabin Down Below
    11. To Find a Friend
    12. A Higher Place
    13. House in the Woods
    14. Crawling Back to You
    15. Wake Up Time


    All The Rest
    01. Something Could Happen
    02. Leaving Virginia Alone
    03. Climb That Hill Blues
    04. Confusion Wheel
    05. California
    06. Harry Green
    07. Hope You Never
    08. Somewhere Under Heaven
    09. Climb That Hill
    10. Hung Up and Overdue

    Home Recordings
    01. There Goes Angela (Dream Away)
    02. You Don’t Know How It Feels
    03. California
    04. A Feeling of Peace
    05. Leave Virginia Alone
    06. Crawling Back to You
    07. Don’t Fade on Me
    08. Confusion Wheel
    09. A Higher Place
    10. There’s a Break in the Rain (Have Love Will Travel)
    11. To Find a Friend
    12. Only a Broken Heart
    13. Wake Up Time
    14. Hung Up and Overdue
    15. Wildflowers

    Wildflowers Live
    01. You Don’t Know How It Feels
    02. Honey Bee
    03. To Find a Friend
    04. Walls
    05. Crawling Back to You
    06. Cabin Down Below
    07. Drivin’ Down to Georgia
    08. House in the Woods
    09. Girls on LSD
    10. Time to Move On
    11. Wake Up Time
    12. It’s Good to Be King
    13. You Wreck Me
    14. Wildflowers


    Alternate Versions (Finding Wildflowers)
    01. A Higher Place
    02. Hard on Me
    03. Cabin Down Below
    04. Crawling Back to You
    05. Only a Broken Heart
    06. Drivin’ Down to Georgia
    07. You Wreck Me
    08. It’s Good to Be King
    09. House in the Woods
    10. Honey Bee
    11. Girl on LSD
    12. Cabin Down Below (Acoustic Version)
    13. Wildflowers
    14. Don’t Fade on Me
    15. Wake Up Time
    16. You Saw Me Comin’


Around The Web