Ennio Morricone’s First Posthumous Album Announced

Morricone Segreto collects 27 rarities and alternate takes from the iconic composer

Ennio Morricone Album Morricone Segreto announced
Ennio Morricone, photo by Luciano Viti

    Ennio Morricone died this past summer at the age of 91. Now, less than four months later, his first posthumous album is being prepped for release. Titled Morricone Segreto, it’s a 27-song compilation collecting rarities, alternate takes, and seven never-before-heard songs from the legendary composer.

    Due out November 6th via CAM Sugar/Decca, the forthcoming project is billed as “the hidden, dark-tinged, and psychedelic side of Ennio Morricone.” A press statement further describes the album as an “acid-tinged sonic journey through mysterious voices, fuzz guitars, airy strings, eerie synths and modern grooves”, suggesting we might be hearing a different version of Morricone — not the one we’ve grown accustomed to through scores like The Hateful Eight, The Untouchables, and The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly.

    In an interview with Variety, Morricone Segreto curator Pierpaolo De Sanctis confirmed as much, noting that the new album is meant to be an experimental departure from Morricone’s most well known material. “I am talking about electronic music, hip hop, alternative rock,” De Sanctis said. “The idea was to go look at why Morricone today is still considered so hip in music circles that are very far-removed from the world of film soundtracks.”


    All of the compositions on Morricone Segreto were recorded between the 1960s and the 1980s, which is considered by many to be the Italian composer’s most prolific creative era. To get an idea of what to expect, check out a trailer below that features music snippets from the album.

    Morricone Segreto will be released on November 6th, which would have been the Maestro’s 92nd birthday. Pre-orders for its 2XLP and CD variants are available now.

    Ennio Morricone Artwork: 

    Ennio Morricone Morricone Segreto artwork

    Ennio Morricone Tracklist:
    01. “Vie-Ni” (alt. take) – QUANDO L’AMORE Ė SENSUALITÀ – 1973
    02. “Fantasmi Grotteschi” (edit) – STARK SYSTEM – 1980
    03. “Vita e Malavita” – STORIE DI VITA E MALAVITA – 1975
    04. “Tette e Antenne, Tetti e Gonne” – LA SMAGLIATURA – 1975
    05. “Patrizia” (alt. take – con voci) – INCONTRO – 1971
    06. “Per Dalila” – IL BANDITO DAGLI OCCHI AZZURRI – 1980
    07. “18 Pari” – UN UOMO DA RISPETTARE – 1972
    08. “Psychedelic Mood” – LUI PER LEI – 1971
    09. “Fuggire Lontano” (edit) – L’AUTOMOBILE – 1971
    10. “Jukebox Psychédélique” – PEUR SUR LA VILLE – 1975
    11. “Fondati Timori” – LA SMAGLIATURA – 1975
    12. “Edda Bocca Chiusa” – LUI PER LEI – 1971
    13. “Non Può Essere Vero” – MIO CARO ASSASSINO – 1972
    14. “Eat It” (versione singolo) – EAT IT – 1969
    15. “Nascosta nell’Ombra” – QUANDO L’AMORE Ė SENSUALITÀ – 1973
    16. “Dramma su di Noi” – SPOGLIATI, PROTESTA, UCCIDI – 1972
    17. “Lui per Lei – LUI PER LEI – 1971
    18. “Beat per Quattro Ruote” – L’AUTOMOBILE – 1971
    19. “Stark System” (Rock) – STARK SYSTEM – 1980
    20. “Il Clan dei Siciliani” (Tema n. 5) – IL CLAN DEI SICILIANI – 1969
    21. “René La Canne” – RENE LA CANNE – 1977
    22. “Ore 22” – SAN BABILA ORE 20: UN DELITTO INUTILE – 1976
    23. “Sinfonia di una Città” – Seq. 4 – COPKILLER – 1983
    24. “L’Immoralità” (edit) – L’IMMORALITÀ – 1978
    25. “L’Incarico” – UN UOMO DA RISPETTARE – 1972
    26. “Inseguimento Mortale” – LA TARANTOLA DAL VENTRE NERO – 1971
    27. “Macchie Solari” (The Victim – versione singolo) – MACCHIE SOLARI – 1974