Guided by Voices Announce Third Album of 2020, Share “Mr. Child”: Stream

Styles We Paid For drops in December

Guided by Voices, photo courtesy of the artist

    Proving the pandemic hasn’t put a major dent in their plans, prolific band Guided by Voices are announcing their third album of 2020. Titled Styles We Paid For, it’s due for arrival December 11th via the aptly named Rockathon Records.

    The upcoming project follows closely behind February’s Surrender Your Poppy Field and July’s Mirrored Aztec. Frontman Robert Pollard originally envisioned it to be an all-analog LP called Before Computers, but with lockdown in place, GBV were forced to take their creative process online.

    “The pandemic obviously changed our recording plans and ironically it was all recorded digitally on computers,” Pollard told Rolling Stone. Each member contributed their parts from their own faraway quarantine locations —  guitarist Doug Gillard in New York, bassist Mark Shue in Virginia, drummer Kevin March in New Jersey, and guitarist Bobby Bare Jr. in Tennessee. Pollard, for whom this is the 108th (!) album ever, recorded his vocal arrangements from Ohio.


    As an early look at Styles We Paid For, GBV have let loose lead single “Mr. Child”. The track begins with stomping percussion before eventually revealing itself to be a rolling and catchy bite-sized rocker. Hear it below.

    Styles We Paid For Artwork:

    guided by voices styles we paid for new album art cover Guided by Voices Announce Third Album of 2020, Share Mr. Child: Stream

    Styles We Paid For Tracklist:
    01. Megaphone Riley
    02. They Don’t Play The Drums Anymore
    03. Slaughterhouse
    04. Endless Seafood
    05. Mr Child
    06. Stops
    07. War of the Devils
    08. Electronic Windows to Nowhere
    09. Never Abandon Ship
    10. Roll Me To Heaven
    11. In Calculus Strategem
    12. Crash at Lake Placebo
    13. Liquid Kid
    14. Time Without Looking
    15. When Growing Was Simple

Personalized Stories

Around The Web