Dinosaur Jr. Announces New Album Sweep It Into Space, Shares “I Ran Away”: Stream

Kurt Vile co-produced the album and plays 12-string guitar on the lead single

Dinosaur Jr
Dinosaur Jr, photo by Cara Totman

    Dinosaur Jr. have announced the release of a new album called Sweep It Into Space, due for release on April 23rd via Jagjaguwar. It marks the beloved rock band’s twelfth studio album to date and the follow-up to 2016’s Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not.

    J Mascis, Lou Barlow, and Murph originally began working on Sweep It Into Space back in the fall of 2019, setting up shop at Amherst’s Biquiteen. They enlisted the services of Kurt Vile, who co-produced the album and played a 12-string guitar on a track called “I Ran Away”, which is being released today as the lead single.

    Unfortunately, the pandemic ultimately disrupted the recording sessions. Without Vile’s physical involvement, Mascis “ended up just mimicking” a few things Vile had done himself. “When the lockdown happened in March, that meant I was on my own,” Mascis explained. “But it was cool.”


    For his part, Barlow writes and sings on two of the album’s songs. A press release describes the song “Garden” as “perhaps [Barlow’s] finest Dinosaur contribution.”

    Sweep It Into Space Artwork:

    Dinosaur Jr Sweep It Into Space

    Sweep It Into Space Tracklist:
    01. I Ain’t
    02. I Met The Stones
    03. To Be Waiting
    04. I Ran Away
    05. Garden
    06. Hide Another Round
    07. And Me
    08. I Expect It Always
    09. Take It Back
    10. N Say
    11. Walking To You
    12. You Wonder

Personalized Stories

Around The Web