Flying Lotus Unsheathes Soundtrack for Yasuke: Stream

With guest contributions by Denzel Curry, Niki Randa, and Thundercat

flying lotus yasuke score stream netflix anime soundtrack listen
Flying Lotus, photo by Tim Saccenti

    Flying Lotus has unsheathed the soundtrack for the new Netflix anime Yasuke. Stream it below using Apple Music or Spotify.

    Based on the true story of the first Black samurai to serve a Japanese warlord, Yasuke was created by LeSean Thomas and co-conceived by FlyLo himself.  His new score has roots in the synth-heavy hip-hop that propelled albums like Cosmogramma and Flamagrabut in a twist it incorporates African percussion alongside Japanese woodwinds and melodic progressions. The soundtrack for Yasuke features contributions from Thundercat (“Black Gold”), Niki Randa (“Hiding in the Shadows” and “Between Memories”), and Denzel Curry (“African Samurai”).

    In her review of Yasuke for Consequence, Samantha Varga compared the soundtrack to another legendary anime score. She wrote, “Similar in originality to the universally adored soundtrack of Cowboy Bebop, Flying Lotus combines nostalgic synths with roots in both traditional Japanese and African soundscapes.”


    Previously, Flying Lotus shared the singles “Black Gold” featuring Thundercat and “Between Memories” with Niki Randa.

    Yasuke Soundtrack Artwork:

    yasuke artwork Flying Lotus Unsheathes Soundtrack for Yasuke: Stream

    Yasuke Soundtrack Tracklist:
    01. War at the Door
    02. Black Gold (feat. Thundercat)
    03. Your Lord
    04. Shoreline Sus
    05. Hiding in the Shadows (feat. Niki Randa)
    06. Crust
    07. Fighting Without Honor
    08. Pain and Blood
    09. War Lords
    10. Sachi
    11. Your Screams
    12. Using What You Got
    13. African Samurai (feat. Denzel Curry)
    14. Where’s the Girl?
    15. Kurosaka Strikes!
    16. This Cursed Life
    17. RoBomb
    18. Taiko Time // Sacrifice
    19. Your Day Off
    20. Your Armour
    21. Enchanted
    22. Mind Flight
    23. Survivors
    24. Your Head // We Won
    25. The Eyes of Vengeance
    26. Between Memories (feat. Niki Randa)

Around The Web