Beirut Announce Compilation Album Artifacts, Share “Fisher Island Sound”: Stream

The double album arrives in January

beirut artifacts new album fisher island sound new song stream
Beirut, photo by Lina Gaisser

    Beirut are back — kind of. Today, Zach Condon’s beloved baroque-pop project has announced Artifacts, a forthcoming double album that compiles material from the band’s entire history. Ahead of its release on January 28th via Condon’s own Pompeii Records, he’s previewing the compilation with a never-before-released Beirut track called “Fisher Island Sound.”

    Condon began pouring over old Beirut material in an effort to assemble a proper EP, but Artifacts seemed like the best route to take in order to document his evolution since he began making music at 14. On the double album, you’ll hear a few familiar Beirut standards like “Elephant Gun,” though this is largely a deep dive into Condon’s unreleased work.

    “When the decision came to re-release this collection, I found myself digging through hard drives looking for something extra to add to the compilation,” Condon writes in the liner notes. “What started as a few extra unreleased tracks from my formative recording years quickly grew into an entire extra records-worth of music from my past, and a larger project of remixing and remastering everything I found for good measure.”


    A swinging number that swells into a cacophony of layered instrumentation, “Fisher Island Sound” recalls the polished folk of Beirut’s 2011 album The Rip Tide and 2015’s No No No. Listen to the track below.

    “This song was written while staying in band member Ben Lanz’s old family cottage on the coast of Connecticut, on the Fisher Island Sound,” explained Condon in a statement. “I played with the lines for years before trying to record versions of it in Brooklyn with the band. Perrin Cloutier had taught himself how to play a new button accordion beautifully, and the band was really sounding their best.”

    Artifacts will see a physical release on March 4th, 2022. Preorders are ongoing, and you can check out its artwork and tracklisting below.

    Beirut’s last LP was 2019’s GallipoliConsidering Condon had to cut his last tour short due to acute laryngitis, we’re hoping to see some live show announcements soon.


    Artifacts Artwork:

    beirut artifacts new album artwork fisher island sound stream

    Artifacts Tracklist:
    SIDE A – Lon Gisland, Transatlantique, O Leãozinho
    01. Elephant Gun
    02. My Family’s Role in the World Revolution
    03. Scenic World
    04. The Long Island Sound
    05. Carousels
    06. Transatantique
    07. O Leãozinho


    SIDE B – The Misfits
    08. Autumn Tall Tales
    09. Fyodor Dormant
    10. Poisoning Claude
    11. Bercy
    12. Your Sails
    13. Irrlichter

    SIDE C – New Directions and Early Works
    14. Sicily
    15. Now I’m Gone
    16. Napoleon on the Bellerophon
    17. Interior of a Dutch House
    18. Fountains and Tramways
    19. Hot Air Balloon

    SIDE D – The B-Sides
    20. Fisher Island Sound
    21. So Slowly
    22. Die Treue zum Ursprung
    23. The Crossing
    24. Zagora
    25. Le Phare Du Cap Bon
    26. Babylon


Around The Web