Black Country, New Road Announce New Album Ants From Up There, Share “Chaos Space Marine”: Stream

London septet's sophomore LP arriving almost a year to the day following their debut

black country new road new album ants from up there chaos space marine
Black Country, New Road, photo by Rosie Foster

    Black Country, New Road will head out on their first North American headlining tour early next year, and it turns out they’ll have a new album in tow. The UK experimentalists have announced their sophomore LP, Ants From Up There, will arrive February 4th, 2022 — almost a year to the day after the release of their For the first time debut. As a first listen, BCNR has shared the lead single “Chaos Space Marine.”

    Recorded at Chale Abbey Studios on Isle of Wight, Ants From Up There is set to expand on the septet’s already vast sonic palette. Expect the klezmatic post-rock to meet at the middle of “classical minimalism, indie folk, pop, [and] alt rock,” as a press release puts it, all with the band’s uniquely experimental tone in tact.

    “We were just so hyped the whole time,” said the band’s Tyler Hyde. “It was such a pleasure to make. I’ve kind of accepted that this might be the best thing that I’m ever part of for the rest of my life. And that’s fine.”


    In fact, frontman Isaac Wood calls the lead track, “Chaos Space Marine,” “the best song” Black Country, New Road has ever written. “We threw in every idea anyone had with that song,” Wood continued. “So the making of it was a really fast, whimsical approach — like throwing all the shit at the wall and just letting everything stick.”

    The song definitely has more of an indie, Nick Cave-meets-Neutral Milk Hotel-meets-Man Man chaos than the For the first time material. Check it out below.

    Pre-orders for Ants From Up There are going on now, and you can find the tracklist and album art ahead. Tickets to Black Country, New Road’s North American tour are selling fast, so snag yours via Ticketmaster while you can.


    Ants From Up There Artwork:

    black country new road ants from up there new album cover artwork chaos space marine

    Ants From Up There Tracklist:
    01. Intro
    02. Chaos Space Marine
    03. Concorde
    04. Bread Song
    05. Good Will Hunting
    06. Haldern
    07. Mark’s Theme
    08. The Place Where He Inserted the Blade
    09. Snow Globes
    10. Basketball Shoes